Skip to main content

Evaluating Information: Finding Sources

This guide will help you identify resources and evaluate the information presented.

This page describes our information ecosystems and approaches to answering research questions. 

Info Iceberg

Google and other search engines allow you to search the surface web returning search results for millions of websites. Most research and scholarly content is not searchable by general search engines. Library catalogs and specialized research databases allow you to search the deep web which includes millions of pages from scholarly publications. 

information searching in the surface web (Google) versus funded research or scholarly works (library catalog and databases)

 

Getting Started with Research

Doing research requires consulting multiple sources and trying different search strategies in each source. This short video discusses the research process.

Finding Sources 101 - Using the Library

You may wonder, "Why use the library when there is Google?" The library's resources (free to current students, faculty, and staff) are curated by specialists specifically to provide our community with good sources of information.  

Start searching for: Articles | Books & More

For more in-depth information about how to use the library, visit our How Do I research guide, call 360-867-6250 or visit us in person (see our Hours to receive in-person assistance). We love to help!  

Start your research at the library

evergreen library search

Welcome to the Evergreen Library search!

This search looks at our local Evergreen collection, the Summit libraries collections, as well as some article databases and other electronic resources.

Using the drop-down list, what is included in each group?

Evergreen + Summit

Locate books, audio-visual materials, and more owned by both Evergreen and 39 other academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest (Summit)

Evergreen Only:

Locate items Evergreen owns and can access in our collection - books, eBooks, audio-visual materials, maps, magazines and journals, microforms, rare books, theses and more.

Articles, Books, and More:

Searches some Evergreen article databases, our Evergreen collections (books, etc), AND Summit.

Library Catalog

 

Guide Information

Many thanks to the Duke University Libraries for making their guide available via Creative Commons License. 

You can find their original guide Writing 101: Evaluating Sources: http://guides.library.duke.edu/writing101/evaluatingsources

 

Daniel J. Evans Library - Room 2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250