Research Guides: Agriculture & Organic Farming: Home

USDA - United States Department of Agriculture

Resources for Small and Midsized Farms
Includes information about sources of funding, risk management, locating market opportunities, land management, food safety, organic certification . . . microloans . . .
Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
Grazing Systems and Alternative Livestock Breeds, Organic Production, Farms and Community, Sustainability in Agriculture, Soil and Water Management, Alternative Marketing and Business Practices, Aquaculture and Soilless Farming, Alternative Crops and Plants, Education and Research, Energy, Ecological Pest Management
Economic Research Services
The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. With over 300 employees, The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
National Farmers Market Directory
Search or browse for markets in the United States
Market News for Local Foods
Including prices to consumers of organic produce in all regions.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Urban Agriculture
Information and resources, including funding resources, related to Urban Farming initiatives.

Washington State University Extension Small Farms Team
Washington State University Small Farms Team provides research-based information and educational programs for farmers, consumers, decision-makers, and others involved in local food systems. The team is a statewide affiliation of professionals from WSU, state agencies, and non-governmental organizations.
Food Systems - Washington State University
Business Plans and Planning - Washington
The Small Business Guide - Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance
Open Access Agricultural Materials
Washington State University Research Guide to open access horticulture and agriculture materials
Washington Tilth Alliance
Advocacy, education and collaboration are the primary strategies in our work. Tilth Alliance uses farms, gardens and kitchens as classrooms where all people, from all backgrounds, can learn to grow, prepare and eat food in ways that are ecologically sound, economically viable and culturally appropriate.

The New Farm by Brent Preston
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1419731084
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
The New Food Activism by Alison Alkon (Editor); Julie Guthman (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780520292130
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
The Organic Farming Manual by Anne Larkin Hansen
Call Number: S605.5 .H355 2010
ISBN: 9781603424790
Publication Date: 2010-03-17
Whole-Farm Planning by Elizabeth Henderson; Karl North; Jocelyn Langer
Call Number: S605.5 .H46 2011
ISBN: 9781603583558
Publication Date: 2011-04-15
Our Sustainable Table by Robert Clark (Editor)
Call Number: S441 .O97 2016 LOCATE
ISBN: 9781619027893
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
American Organic by Robin O'Sullivan
Call Number: TX369 .O88 2015
ISBN: 9780700621330
Publication Date: 2015-10-12

Academic Search Complete
Mostly full-text. A broad multidisciplinary database. A good place to start, especially if you are uncertain where else to look.
AGRICOLA
Index. Some full-text. Covers materials relating to agriculture in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Includes articles, book chapters, books, and more. Created by the National Agricultural Library (USDA).
Agriculture OneFile
Full-text. Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields.
AGRIS
Business Source Complete
Full-text. From 1930's - present. An excellent source for popular and academic, peer-reviewed articles on business and economics, as well as country and corporation profiles. Company View data includes financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, industry information and more. Video content provided by the Associated Press.
Gardening and Horticulture OneFile
Full-text. Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts.
JSTOR
13 full-text periodicals on agriculture, with historical depth
ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science related to agriculture and sustainability.

The Land Institute
The Land Institute is a science-based research organization working to develop an alternative to current destructive agricultural practices, and dedicated to advancing perennial grain crops and polyculture farming solutions.
NCAT Sustainable Agriculture Project
From markets to marketing, from sustainable methods to sustainable business models, this is an excellent place to start your research.
more...less...
Sign In with these passwords: Username: serials@evergreen.edu Password: evergreen
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
Advocates for federal policy reform for the sustainability of food systems, natural resources, and rural communities.
Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education
Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) offers farmer-driven, grassroots grants and education programs.
NAICS
he North American Industry Classification System or NAICS (pronounced "nakes") is used by business and government to classify business establishments and is sometimes helpful in targeting your searches.