Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
American Chemical Society publications
Full-text. 50 journals from the world's largest and most influential scientific society, providing the worldwide scientific community with cutting-edge research from the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
For historical information . . .
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Link to full text available from Evergreen Library. Perform citation searches. Search a wide variety of sources, from journal articles to books to government reports.
Index. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to all the full text articles in PubMed Central.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
• Thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds:
• Reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions.
• IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds.
• Mass spectra for over 33,000 compounds.
• UV/Vis spectra for over 1600 compounds.
• Gas chromatography data for over 27,000 compounds.
• Electronic and vibrational spectra for over 5000 compounds.
• Constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds.
• Ion energetics data for over 16,000 compounds
OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
• Physical Properties
• Exposure Guidelines
• NIOSH Pocket Guide, and
• Emergency Response Information, including the DOT Emergency Response Guide.
Green Chemistry - Environmental Protection Agency
Resource for defining library research projects
• Ingredients used in Safer Choice-labeled products
• Design for the Environment Alternatives assessments
• Green Engineering textbook
• Pollution prevention at EPA
• Innovation at EPA
Print Reference Works
The Merck Index by
Call Number: REFERENCE RS51.M4 2006 - Older editions in Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
Call Number: REFERENCE QD65.H3 - Older editions in Stacks
Publication Date: 2018-06-14
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
American Chemical Society Style
Encyclopedia of Puget Sound: Chemistry
The Encyclopedia of Puget Sound is published by the University of Washington to synthesize and share scientific information about the Puget Sound ecosystem. Sections such as the Puget Sound Science Review provide peer-reviewed synthetic reports designed as a grounding for ecosystem-based management in the region. The website also includes feature articles, geospatial data, species and habitat descriptions, archival documents, blogs and portals to other scientific data.
Photo: Panoramic view of Evergreen Beach from Photo Services Archives