All Databases

Full-text. Black Life in America is an article-based, multidisciplinary database examining the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Coverage includes: Late 20th Century (1976 - 2000), Early 21st Century (2001 - present).

Full Text. Index. Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper index from 1910-1975. Collections included: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), The Chicago Defender Index, and Black Literature Index.

Full text. Bloomsbury Food Library provides comprehensive and authoritative information about the global history of food from pre-history to the present day and includes encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

Streaming Media. Docuseek's Global Environmental Justice collection is a curated collection of 35 documentaries and teacher’s guides.

Streaming media. Films from the Ma'aleh Film School, a media school in Jerusalem, provided by Movie Discovery. This collection also contains films pertaining to the following subjects: technology, science, environment, history, and art. This collection is being made available thanks to a grant secured by Evergreen faculty member Nancy Koppelman.

Full text. Follow this link to sign up for a free New York Times account provided by The Evergreen Library.

Step 1: Click the link above.
Step 2: Search for and click “The Evergreen State College - Olympia, WA”
Step 3: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus

If you already have an account with the NYT that you pay for, you will need to cancel your subscription before claiming this free access.

Full text. This open access database consists of three collections: American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside, Independent Voices, and Student Activism. Content includes alternative and independent press newspapers, images, and other ephemera.