It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Culture, History, & Arts: Research & Resources
Mostly full-text. From 1977 - present. Covers an international selection publications featuring articles and interview on new and prominent artists, exhibition reviews, and criticism and analysis. Includes a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
Full-text. The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files.
Full-text. Black Life in America is an article-based, multidisciplinary database examining the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Coverage includes: Arrival in America (Beginning - 1783), Antebellum (1784 - 1860), Civil War (1861 - 1865), Reconstruction (1866 - 1877), Jim Crow (1878 - 1922), Great Migration (1923 - 1944), Civil Rights Movement (1945 - 1975), Late 20th Century (1976 - 2000), Early 21st Century (2001 - present).
Full Text. Index. Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper index from 1910-1975. Collections included: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), The Chicago Defender Index, and Black Literature Index.
Full-text. This page is a gateway to a consortium of civil rights and labor history projects directed by Professor James N. Gregory at the University of Washington and supported by the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies, the Simpson Center for the Humanities, and the Center for the Study of Pacific Northwest.
The thirteen projects bring together maps, films, slide shows, nearly one hundred video oral history interviews, and several thousand photographs, documents, and digitized newspaper articles. Included are lesson plans for teachers. The projects also feature several hundred essays about important issues, events, and people, many researched and written by undergraduate and graduate students at the University of Washington.
Full text. Diversity Collection provides a global view of some of the biggest topics in diversity, equity, and inclusion. It focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. The collection aims to bring out dissenting and minority voices to support research and teaching in women’s studies, lgbtq studies, ethnic studies, and more.
Full text. Covers 1990 - Present. Comprehensively provides newspaper, journal, and magazine resources that cover these ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People. Resources can be found In both English and Spanish languages.
Full-text. Encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Full text. Major resource for legal documents and analysis, business information, and news. Includes articles from over 3,000 local, national and international newspapers, including wire services and transcripts from major news networks. Contains federal case law and statutes, the U.S. Code, law reviews, state legal research, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Provides business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
The AAAMC covers a range of African American musical idioms primarily from the post-World War II era, including religious, and classical music, from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.