Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - Room 2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Brain Waves . . .
Guide created by Sara Huntington. Maintained by Paul McMillin
Search the Evergreen Library Catalog + Summit
American Psychological Association: Citation Style, Research Topics, Ethics
APA Style & Formatting Guide: 7th Edition (2020)
Select examples of citation and guidelines for formatting according to APA style, 7th Edition, 2020. Covers nearly everything you are likely to need. For the official and complete style guide, see the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition, which we have access to in print at the library.
American Psychological Association
A good place to start for information on ethics and for exploring topics and current events in the field.
Key Psychology Databases
Index. Ssome full text, from 1809 - present. The index of the National Library of medicine. Over 23 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine with citations from over 5,600 worldwide journals in 60 languages. All articles indexed in Medline are also indexed in PubMed.
Mostly full-text. From 1894 - present. Articles from major academic psychology journals.This is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and more. All articles in PsycArticles are indexed in PsycInfo.
Indexes 2,500 journals & links to full-text of about 80 APA journals in the PsycArticles database.1880 - present. Content is international and interdisciplinary; more than 8,400 controlled vocabulary terms; cited references since 2001.
Index. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to all the full text articles in PubMed Central.
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
Other Databases with Psychology Related Content
Ethnic News Watch
Full text. Covers 1990 - Present. Comprehensively provides newspaper, journal, and magazine resources that cover these ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People. Resources can be found In both English and Spanish languages.
Full text. From 1970 - present. Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.
Full text. A multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, with an emphasis in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Mostly full-text. A broad multidisciplinary database. A good place to start, especially if you are uncertain where else to look.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Full text. A social sciences database that includes 1072 full-text journals and 26,000 author profiles. Subject include economic development, population, gender studies, religion, social movements, and much more.
National Institutes of Mental Health
Local and International Resources
Thurston Mason Behavioral Health Organization
Thurston-Mason Behavioral Health Organization administers mental health and substance use disorder services for publicly funded citizens of Thurston and Mason Counties.
United Nations High Commission on Refugees
Publications on mental health issues in refugee populations; focus search by country/region, gender, age.
World Health Organization - Mental Health
WHO’s work to improve the mental health of individuals and society at large includes the promotion of mental well-being, the prevention of mental disorders, the protection of human rights and the care of people affected by mental disorders.
600+ free psychology encyclopedia articles
Print Reference Works
Handbook of Racial and Ethnic Minority Psychology by
Call Number: REF: GN502 .H3635 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-23
Men and Masculinities by
Call Number: REF: HQ1090.3 .M436 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-11
Encyclopedia of Identity by
Call Number: REF: BD236 .E42 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-29
Boy Culture by
Call Number: BF692.5 .B69 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Handbook of Social Psychology by
Call Number: 9780470137475
Publication Date: 2010-02-15
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology by
Call Number: REF. LB1027.55 .E522 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
PLoS (Public Library of Science) collections publish on a wide range of psychological topics, including dog pschology