Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Sesson Shūkei - Tree & Boat
The Library has a large collection of article databases that can connect you with academic work on Japan. Unfortunately, there is no single 'Japan Studies' database exists. Instead, we have databases that are largely divided by disciplinary boundaries, each with different strengths, search tools, and quirks. Below is a list of some of the databases most likely to be useful for your research on various aspects of Japan.
Academic Search Complete
Mostly full-text. A broad multidisciplinary database. A good place to start, especially if you are uncertain where else to look.
Full-text. A multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, with an emphasis in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A first stop in any historical research from 1450-present. While there is some full text, entries are mostly abstract only, so be prepared to use other resources, especially Interlibrary Loan.
Business Source Complete
Look here for academic economic analysis, materials such as company profiles, and a wide sampling of the non-academic business press.
Covers many of the most important journals in the discipline. An excellent resource for research into literary, cultural, or art studies.
News and Current Events
Japan has a dynamic newspaper scene and a high readership. In fact, the three highest circulating newspapers in the world are Japanese: the Yomiuri Shimbun, Asahi Shimbun and Mainichi Shimbun.
Asahi Shimbun: Asia & Japan Watch
The English-language service of Asahi Shimbun (朝日新聞), one of Japan's leading daily papers, with a center-left editorial orientation. Known for relatively aggressive reporting on scandals.
Nikkei Asian Review
The English-language service of Nihon Keizai Shimbun (日本経済新聞), Japan's largest circulation financial newspaper, with a conservative orientation.
The English version of the Mainichi Simbun (毎日新聞), a center-left national paper.
The English-language site for Japan's national public broadcaster, Nippon Hoso Kyokai (日本放送協会), better known by its English initials, NHK.
For many more news options, including local papers, use Abyz News.
When searching for books (or anywhere, really), by mindful of the multiple styles of romanization. The Library, like most academic institutions, follows the Library of Congress guidelines, but our catalog search engine imposes some additional constraints. Here are some things to remember:
- Long vowels are typically ignored. おおえ けんざぶろう would be romanized as Ōe Kenzaburo, but searched as 'oe kenzaburo'.
- Doubled consonants are written that way: とっこう would be romanized as Tokkō, and searched as 'tokko' (note also the loss of the macron). A particular case is doubled [ch-] sounds: chi (ち), chu (ちゅ), etc.. When doubled, these are proceeded by a [t], so えっちゅう is romanized as Etchu and searched the same way.
- In words where an -n (ん) proceeds a [b], [p], or [m] sound -- e.g. bu (ぶ), po (ぽ), ma (ま), -- it is sometimes romanized as [m]. This is inconsistent, however; しんぶん might be romanized as either Shimbun or Shinbun and should be searched using both spellings.
General Reference, Arts, & Historical Artifacts
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
Call Number: REF DS805 .K633 1983
Publication Date: 1983-11-01
A substantial and well respected reference source, and an important next step after that first Wikipedia, having more comprehensive coverage, more detail, and more consistency.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: East Asia by
Call Number: REF ML100.G16 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Contains an extensive discussion of Japan's musical history, particularly in relation to theater, with additional sections on philosophy and aesthetics, minority ethnicities, and the influence of Euro-American styles.
A Pictoral Encyclopedia of the Oriental Arts by
Call Number: REF N7262.P5
Don't let the dated title fool you. This encyclopedia has four volumes of beautiful photographic depictions of Japanese art, crafts, and architecture, organized chronologically from early Jomon and Yayoi pottery to modern brutalist architecture.
Search for images of fine arts, historical artifacts, and architecture.
Statistics, Demographic & Otherwise
Research Tools & Assistance
See it. Save it. Sort it. Search it. Cite it. - A free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources.On your personal computer, download the Zotero application of your choice. The college supports the Firefox in-browser application rather than the stand alone. Then download the wordprocessor plug-in for Word, Mac, or Libre.
ILLIAD - for Interlibrary loan
If you are a first-time user, create an account. This will allow you to request--with relative ease-- journal articles that are unavailable in full text. And you can request items that are not in Summit
For more research assistance, or any other questions, stop by the reference desk (9-7 Mon-Thurs; 9-5 Fri; 2-6 Sun), call during desk hours (360-867-6252), or email Riley Woodward-Pratt at email@example.com.
Sesson Shūkei - Tree and Boat