Research Guides: Mammals: The Basics: Home

Environment Complete
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Google Scholar
Some full-text. First, you need to connect to the library holdings. A simple way to search for scholarly literature, across many disciplines and publication types--articles, theses, books, abstracts, reports, and court opinions--from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR
Includes core scientific journals with historical coverage
ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
USFWS Conservation Library
Includes peer review research, government reports, images, historical information, with overlap from academic and commercial databases

Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife Research publications, programs, projects

Journals of Note

Journal of Mammalogy
Journal of Mammalogy was established in 1919 by the American Society of Mammalogists to promote interest in mammals throughout the world by the publication of original research on their ecology, genetics, conservation, behavior, and physiology.
American Midlands Naturalist
The American Midland Naturalist was established in 1909. Today, the journal covers a diverse set of biological disciplines (animal sciences, plant sciences, ecology) as they pertain to North America.
Mammalian Species
Mammalian Species publishes 15-35 individual species accounts each year. Each account summarizes the current understanding of the biology of an individual species including systematics, distribution, fossil history, and genetics.
Journal of Wildlife Management
Journal of Wildlife Management publishes work on basic wildlife science, including investigations into the biology/ecology of wildlife that has implications for wildlife management and conservation.

Handbook of Mammals of the World by Species Survival Commission; Don E. Wilson (Editor); Russell A. Mittermeier (Editor); Sue Ruff (Editor); Albert Martínez-Vilalta (Editor); Paolo Cavallini (Text by)
Call Number: Evergreen State College Reference (QL703 .H355 2009 )
ISBN: 9788496553491
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Volumes available in the Library Reference Collection: 1. Carnivores -- 2. Hoofed mammals -- 3. Primates -- 4. Sea mammals -- 5. Monotremes and Marsupials
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Bernd Würsig (Editor); J. G. M. "Hans" Thewissen (Editor); Kit M. Kovacs (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128043271
Publication Date: 2017-11-24

Encyclopedia of Life
North American Mammals - Smithsonian
Maps & specimen collections. Teaching resources.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Spec ies - Mammals
Comprehensive assessment of the conservation status of the world's 5,488 mammal species. Here you will find global summary statistics for the assessment, as well as individual species accounts including IUCN Red List threat category, range map, ecology information, and other data for every mammal species

Walker's Mammals of the World by Ronald M. Nowak
ISBN: 9781421424675
Publication Date: 2018-06-15
Mammal Species of the World by Don E. Wilson (Editor); DeeAnn M. Reeder (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE ; QL708 .M35 2005
ISBN: 9780801882210
Publication Date: 2005-12-21
Database of mammalian taxonomy. Verify recognized scientific names and conduct taxonomic research

Macaulay Library
Streaming content audio and video. The world's largest archive of wildlife sounds and videos by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.