Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
America, History & Life with Full Text
Full-text. 1957 - present. Covers US and Canadian history with indexing in over 1,800 journals.
A large collection of databases. Pull down the subjects tab for ideas about how to limit your search, including the Sociology Thersaurus
Ethnic News Watch
Over 200 full-text publications of ethnic minority and native press -- English and Spanish.
Full-text. Encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Searches may be limited by a focus on African American, Asian American, Native American, Jewish, Latin American & Middle Eastern studies.
Full text. Major resource for legal documents and analysis, business information, and news. Includes articles from over 3,000 local, national and international newspapers, including wire services and transcripts from major news networks. Contains federal case law and statutes, the U.S. Code, law reviews, state legal research, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Provides business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
Good coverage of race at the intersections of social science & medicine
Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture
Library of Congress Classification
Ethnic Groups and Races
In U.S. History: E184
In Anthropology: GN537-GN674
In Labor: HD6050-HD6305
In Sociology: HT1501-HT1595
In Social Services: HV3176-HV3199
In History: E 184.5-E185.98
In Education: LC2699-LC2913
In History: E184
In Education: LC2630-LC2638
In U.S. History: E184
In Social Services: HV4005-HV4013
In Education: LC3701-LC3747
In History: E184
In Education: LC2667-LC2698
In History: E75-E99
For topics related to race and ethnicity, it may be necessary to think about how a population has been described in the past in order to come up with a complete list of effective search terms.
Ethnicity and Race in General
- ethnic Groups
- ethnic Relations
- people of color
- race discrimination
- Afro Americans
- African Diaspora
- Colored people (in works written before the 1980s)
- Negroes (in works written before the 1970s)
- Chinese Americans (or other specific nationalities)
- emigration or immigration
- undocumented aliens
- [nationality] and immigration
(example: Guatemalans and immigration)
- Hispanic Americans
- Mexican Americans (or other specific nationality)
- American Indians
- Indians of North America
- First Nations
- Native Americans
- Cowlitz Indians (or other specific tribes)
Pageant of America - New York Public Library
A vast resources of photographs and paintings that document race in American history, from Buffalo Dancers to Chinese railway workers.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics
The Newberry Library: Digital Collections for the Classroom
"Art of Conflict: Portraying American Indians, 1850-1900," "Aphra Behn's Oroonoko: Slavery & Race in the Atlantic World," "Chicago and the Great Migration, 1915-1950," and much more, with primary sources, paintings, & maps.
Section of Chiho Aoshima's Rebirth of the World at Seattle Asian Art Museum