Research Guides: Indigenous and First Peoples Studies: Pacific Northwest

PNW First Peoples

Pacific Northwest

Links to First Peoples by state or province

Native Case Studies at Evergreen

Native Case Studies at Evergreen State College
The Enduring Legacies Native Cases Initiative develops culturally relevant curriculum and teaching resources in the form of case studies on key issues in Indian Country. Culturally relevant curriculum is a key factor in student success. Our partners in developing and using these cases are Northwest Indian College, Salish Kootenai College, and Grays Harbor College.

Treaties

Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
A History of Treaty Making and Reservations on the Olympic Peninsula
Pacific NW Treaties
The United States recognized tribes as sovereign nations and the rightful owners of the land through the signing of treaties that carry the weight of the U.S. Constitution. Tribal sovereignty is further recognized with the government-to-government relationship that the tribes have with the federal government.
Understanding Treaty Rights in Western Washington
In 1854-55, territorial Governor Isaac Stevens negotiated five treaties with the tribes in what is now western
Washington to obtain the land to accommodate the wave of oncoming homesteaders. These were the treaties of Medicine Creek, Neah Bay, Olympia, Point Elliott and Point No Point.
Montana Tribes by Sally Thompson, Kim Lugthart, Denise Juneau, Mike Jetty
University of Montana and Montana’s Office of Public Instruction. Since 2001, through filmed interviews, the Regional Learning Project (RLP) has been engaged in providing first-hand accounts of history, culture and knowledge of tribes of Montana and the Greater Northwest. Over 40 of the RLP interviews are with elders and educators from Montana tribes.

PEOPLES OF THE WATER: CANOE JOURNEYS

Following traditional protocol the Heiltsuk sent canoes to invite both the North and South coastal First Nations once again to Bella Bella for the Qatuwas "People gathering together"- Festival from July 13th - July 19th 2014. Over 100 canoes with over 1,000 pullers and about 5,000 visitors to joined us for this important event

Organizations

The Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission (NWIFC) is a natural resources management support service organization for 20 treaty Indian tribes in western Washington. Headquartered in Olympia, the NWIFC employs approximately 65 people with satellite offices in Burlington and Forks. NWIFC member tribes are: Lummi, Nooksack, Swinomish, Upper Skagit, Sauk-Suiattle, Stillaguamish, Tulalip, Muckleshoot, Puyallup, Nisqually, Squaxin Island, Skokomish, Suquamish, Port Gamble S’Klallam, Jamestown S’Klallam, Lower Elwha Klallam, Makah, Quileute, Quinault, and Hoh.

The NWIFC was created following the 1974 U.S. v. Washington ruling (Boldt Decision) that re-affirmed the tribes’ treaty-reserved fishing rights. The ruling established them as natural resources co-managers with the State of Washington with an equal share of the harvestable number of salmon returning annually.

Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
In 1953 farsighted tribal leaders in the Northwest formed the Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians, and dedicated it to tribal sovereignty and self-determination. Today, ATNI is a nonprofit organization representing 57 Northwest tribal governments from Oregon, Idaho, Washington, southeast Alaska, Northern California and Western Montana.
Bureau of Indian Affairs-- Northwest Region
The Regional Director is a Senior Executive Service member and has the delegated authority from the Secretary and/or Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs to uphold, maintain, and improve the government-to-government relationships with federally recognized Native American tribes in the Northwest Region. The Regional Director is supported by two Deputy Regional Directors, Trust and Indian Services, who help to fulfill federal trust responsibilities through the delivery of programs and services.
Washington State Tribal Directory
Links to tribal agencies, newspapers, casinos and museums.

Tribes of Washington Map
Part of the educational outreach sponsored by the Washington Indian Gaming Association
Salmon Defense
The mission of Salmon Defense is to “protect and defend Pacific Northwest salmon and salmon habitat.”
Salmon Defense envisions a healthy environment for all of the region’s inhabitants now and in the future.

News Resources

Northwest Treaty Tribes
NW Indian Fisheries Commission communications effort called Northwest Treaty Tribes: Protecting Natural Resources for Everyone. Tribal natural resources news from NW Treaty Tribes.
NW News Network - Native American News
The Northwest News Network is a collaboration of public radio stations that broadcast in Washington, Oregon and Idaho. News related to Pacific Northwest issues includes tribal news stories from the Pacific Coast to the Rocky Mountains.
Pacific Northwest Tribal Climate Change network
Established in 2009, the PNW Tribal Climate Change Network fosters communication between tribes, agencies, and other entities about climate change policies, programs, and research needs pertaining to tribes and climate change. The Network meets via conference call on the third Wednesday of each month. The Network provides regular input into ongoing research, resource development and general efforts of the Tribal Climate Change Project.

Books and Reference Resources

Asserting Native Resilience by Alan Parker (Editor); Zoltán Grossman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780870716638
Publication Date: 2012
Bartering with the Bones of Their Dead by Laurie Arnold
ISBN: 9780295991986
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
Death of Celilo Falls by Katrine Barber
ISBN: 9780295985466
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Rights Remembered by Pauline R. Hillaire; Gregory P. Fields (Editor)
Call Number: E99.S2 H45 2016
ISBN: 9780803245846
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Where the salmon run : the life and legacy of Billy Frank Jr. by Trova Heffernan Washington State Heritage Center
ISBN: 9780295993409
Publication Date: 2013

Research Article Databases

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
Full-text. The digital databases include: over 2,300 original photographs, over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 - 1908, and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and University of Washington publications in Anthropology.
America History & Life
Full-text. 1957 - present. Covers US and Canadian history with indexing in over 1,800 journals.
JSTOR
Full-text. A multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, with an emphasis in the humanities and social sciences.

Indigenous and First Peoples Studies: Pacific Northwest

First Peoples of the Pacific Northwest

PNW First Peoples

Pacific Northwest

Alaska

British Columbia

Idaho

Oregon

Washington

Montana