Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Negative Number 2002.46.2379.5, Robert H Miller Collection, Museum of History & Industry.
Images, Archives, and Oral Histories
American Indian Experience
Featuring articles and essays from Native American authors and contributors, it gives voice to the American Indian experience with respect to colonial conflict, trade economies, decisive wars, parsing of Native American land enabled by American policy, assimilation, and native claims to land, among other topics.
Digital Resources Guide for the Labor Archives of Washington
This project has made hundreds of primary textual and visual resources relating to Pacific Northwest labor history more accessible to the public.
These interviews—conducted in the 1980s with African Americans who had migrated north during the 1910s and 1920s and with those in Philadelphia who witnessed their arrival—reveal the complex struggles to overcome racism both in the South and in Philadelphia; the search for opportunities in the North; and the worlds of church, work, school, and entertainment which these individuals inhabited.
The Great Depression in Washington State Project
The Great Depression in Washington State Project is a multimedia website that explores this important decade. Here you will find detailed accounts of issues, incidents, institutions, and people, along with hundreds of photographs, documents, and news articles from the period.
Latino Civil Rights Timeline, 1903 to 2006
This timeline is used with "Understanding the History of Latino Civil Rights" and "Exploring the History of Latino Civil Rights" lessons.
The Samuel Proctor Oral History Program Digital Collection
The largest collection contains more than 900 interviews with Native Americans including Seminoles, Cherokees, and Creeks. Other major holdings include projects on African Americans in Florida in the Joel Buchanan Archive of African American Oral History,
South Asian Oral History Project
One of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history..
Waterfront Workers History Project
The site is organized by industry, with separate sections for longshore workers, maritime workers, cannery workers, shipyard, and fishing workers.
Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project
Asian Americans and Seattle's civil rights history
This page is a gateway to the Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project resources for exploring the civil rights activism of Asian Americans in the Pacific Northwest. Included are activist oral histories, research reports, newspaper reports, photographic collections, maps, historical documents.
Latinos and Seattle's civil rights history
This page is a gateway to the Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project resources for exploring the civil rights activism of Latinos in the Pacific Northwest. Included are activist oral histories, research reports, newspaper reports, photographic collections, maps, historical documents.
Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project
This multi-media web site brings the vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies, more than 300 pages in all.
Women and Seattle's Civil Rights History
This page is a gateway to the Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project resources for exploring the civil rights activism of women in the Pacific Northwest. In the 1960s, women's liberation activism was not separate from women's participation in a variety of civil rights organizations. Many women engaged in the women's liberation movement also organized campaigns for desegregation, economic and social justice, and were some of the first women to hold lead public administrative roles.
Search the Evergreen Library Catalog + Summit
America, History & Life: Full Text
Full-text. 1957 - present. Covers US and Canadian history with indexing in over 1,800 journals.
Full-text. From 1970 - present. Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.
Full-text. A multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, with an emphasis in the humanities and social sciences.
Aggregate search. Full-text. A combination of 8 ProQuest databases, including Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Genderwatch, ABI/Inform, Family Health, PsychArticles, PsycInfo and Research Library.