Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - Room 2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Reference Works, Treatises, & other Big Books
NOAA's Digital Coast
Includes electronic nautical charts, the coastal change analysis program, and more.
Saving Puget Sound
Department of Ecology
Everything from ongoing research on dissolved oxygen in Puget Sound to sediment monitoring to initiatives to clean up contaminated sites.
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Full-text scholarly database that includes journals such as Coastal Research, Estuaries, and Water Environment Research. Good historical coverage
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology.
Some full text dependent on library subscriptions. Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Link through Evergreen's catalog in order to identify full text availability.
Includes full-text access to journals such as Estuaries, Coastal Research, Journal of Coastal Conservation, Water Environment Research, Conservation Biology, and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, among many others. Good historical coverage.
Link to periodical by clicking on title or go to Academic Search Elite via the library catalog
Marine Mammal Science
click on title for individual publication or search in Environment Complete via the library catalog
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2015-06-05
Seashore Life of the Northern Pacific Coast by Seashore life of Puget Sound, the Strait of Georgia, and the San Juan Archipelago,
Eugene N. Kozloff 1973
Available at Evergreen State College Book Stacks (QH95.7.K64 )
Call Number: Evergreen State College Reference (QH104.5.N6 K7 1993 ) and other locations
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Fishes of the Puget Sound
David Starr Jordan 1851-1931
Rare Books QL621.W2J67 1895
Panoramic view of Evergreen Beach from Photo Services Archives
Encyclopedia of Puget Sound
The Encyclopedia of Puget Sound is published by the University of Washington to synthesize and share scientific information about the Puget Sound ecosystem. Sections such as the Puget Sound Science Review provide peer-reviewed synthetic reports designed as a grounding for ecosystem-based management in the region. The website also includes feature articles, geospatial data, species and habitat descriptions, archival documents, blogs and portals to other scientific data.