Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Management and Welfare of Farm Animals: The UFAW Farm Handbook [click on image]
USDA - United States Department of Agriculture
Resources for Small and Midsized Farms
Includes information about sources of funding, risk management, locating market opportunities, land management, food safety, organic certification . . . microloans . . .
Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
Grazing Systems and Alternative Livestock Breeds, Organic Production, Farms and Community, Sustainability in Agriculture, Soil and Water Management, Alternative Marketing and Business Practices, Aquaculture and Soilless Farming, Alternative Crops and Plants, Education and Research, Energy, Ecological Pest Management
Economic Research Services
The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. With over 300 employees, The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
National Farmers Market Directory
Search or browse for markets in the United States
Market News for Local Foods
Including prices to consumers of organic produce in all regions.
Local - ish resources
THINK ANALOGOUSLY: no matter where you start your farm, you can locate analogous sources in each state or region: farm teams at University extensions, regulations, certifications, business plans and filings, financing.
Academic Search Complete
Mostly full-text. A broad multidisciplinary database. A good place to start, especially if you are uncertain where else to look.
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science related to agriculture and sustainability.
13 full-text periodicals on agriculture, with historical depth
Index. Some full-text. Covers materials relating to agriculture in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Includes articles, book chapters, books, and more. Created by the National Agricultural Library (USDA).
Business Source Complete
Full-text. From 1930's - present. An excellent source for popular and academic, peer-reviewed articles on business and economics, as well as country and corporation profiles. Company View data includes financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, industry information and more. Video content provided by the Associated Press.
Web based resources
NCAT Sustainable Agriculture Project
From markets to marketing, from sustainable methods to sustainable business models, this is an excellent place to start your research.
Sustainable Agriculture Network
Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) offers farmer-driven, grassroots grants and education programs.
he North American Industry Classification System or NAICS (pronounced "nakes") is used by business and government to classify business establishments and is sometimes helpful in targeting your searches.
For instance, the NAICS code for potatoes is 111211. To search on the code in Business Source Complete:
In the search box, use the pull-down menu to limit the search to the NAICS field, and then enter the code: