Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Labor activism in the United States was born of necessity; the Industrial Revolution brought about a widespread lack of regulated industries, which resulted in miserable working conditions for American laborers, children in particular. The 20th century was characterized by frequent clashes between striking American workers and governing bodies at every level. These altercations (as with the Centralia and Everett Massacres, the Battle of Blair Mountain) sometimes escalated to armed violence between union members and a mix of National Guardsmen, Sheriff's posses and armed vigilantes. In order to understand the lack of widespread organized labor in 21st century America, it is important to contextualize that absence in the history of repressive violence and co-option of American labor movements. It is my hope that the contents of this guide may begin to lay the groundwork for that understanding.
Image: Lawrence Textile Strike, 1912
Academic Search Complete
Mostly full-text. A broad multidisciplinary database. A good place to start, especially if you are uncertain where else to look.
America, History & Life with Full Text
Full-text. 1957 - present. Covers US and Canadian history with indexing in over 1,800 journals.
Full-text. American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium
Full-text. This page is a gateway to a consortium of civil rights and labor history projects directed by Professor James N. Gregory at the University of Washington and supported by the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies, the Simpson Center for the Humanities, and the Center for the Study of Pacific Northwest.
The thirteen projects bring together maps, films, slide shows, nearly one hundred video oral history interviews, and several thousand photographs, documents, and digitized newspaper articles. Included are lesson plans for teachers. The projects also feature several hundred essays about important issues, events, and people, many researched and written by undergraduate and graduate students at the University of Washington.
Full-text. A multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, with an emphasis in the humanities and social sciences.
Some Full Text. Mostly scholarly. Includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts from left-oriented publications. Covers current academic journals as well as historically significant left publications (including The People, The Class Struggle, and limited coverage of The Daily Worker). Some mainstream academic publications are included as well. Topics covered include labor, ecology and environment, economics, political economy, marxist theory, social movements, revolution, sexuality, race and ethnicity, area studies, education, and legal studies.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Full text. A social sciences database that includes 1072 full-text journals and 26,000 author profiles. Subject include economic development, population, gender studies, religion, social movements, and much more.
This research guide was curated by Ty Engeman, a student of sociology at Evergreen. It was the product of a labor of love (the love of labor, of course).