Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - Room 2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Birds of North American
BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology.
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Covers major academic journals in ornithology and has excellent historical coverage
Journals of Note
Pacific Northwest Bird and Mammal Society. Society for Northwestern Vertebrate Biology. University of Washington. Museum. 1920-1988
The Auk: Ornithological Advances publishes research advancing the fundamental scientific knowledge of birds and of broad biological concepts through studies of bird species, often using innovative approaches and analyses.
Journal of Raptor Research
The Journal of Raptor Research publishes work on the biology and conservation of diurnal and nocturnal raptors, and contains articles describing their ecology, behavior, life history, conservation, and other topics.
Journal of Field Ornithology
Journal of Field Ornithology publishes articles that emphasize the descriptive/experimental study of birds in their natural habitats, particularly in the Neotropics. The Journal is also interested in studies involving nonprofessional ornithologists.
Another kind of birding: browse the library stacks: Starting at QL671 -
Field Recordings and Images
Photo of Marbled Murrelet by Jenna Cragg