Subject Encyclopedias are usually written by specialists for non-specialists. This means they tend to be written in accessible language -- they don't assume that you already know the jargon native to the field of study. A good subject encyclopedia introduces you to main concepts in the field, central theorists and writers, major historical developments, and current discussions and debates. Most include entries that are signed by the author and include a select bibliography for additional reading. Overall, a good subject encyclopedia can be a great way to get oriented when you are relatively new to a field of study, or some part of it.
Are all the subject encyclopedias listed here "good"? Not necessarily. We get many of our subject encyclopedias as part of larger packages of electronic texts, and we haven't reviewed all of them. In general, however, we don't expect any of them to be "bad" -- it is just that some will be better than others.
Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene, 2018. Science Direct
Eating disorders : an encyclopedia of causes, treatment, and prevention. 2013. Internet Archive (checkout for one hour)
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics by 
Handbook of Sustainability for the Food Sciences by 
Handbook of Mineral Elements in Food by 
Handbook of Food Science and Technology 1, Food alteration and food quality by 
Handbook of Food Science and Technology 2 Food process engineering and packaging by 
Handbook of Food Science and Technology 3 Food biochemistry and technology by 
The Oxford Handbook of Eating Disorders by 
Cultural Encyclopedia of Vegetarianism by 
They Eat That? : a cultural encyclopedia of weird and exotic food from around the world by 
Popes, Peasants, and Shepherds: recipes and lore from Rome to Lazio by 
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by 
