Library Research Workshop

You can search and browse library collections through a variety of platforms and access points. See below for instructions on navigating the Library Catalog, Research Databases, and searching by publication. 

The Library Catalog is useful for finding books, e-books, articles, images, maps, streaming videos, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more. The catalog searches across nearly all of the library's collections in physical and electronic formats. You can also use the catalog to request items from other institutions through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). 

• Access the Library Catalog from the search bar on the Library's homepage: https://www.evergreen.edu/library
• Select a scope that matches your need. Choose "Articles and more" to find journal articles. 
• View the detailed record to learn more about the item, including the database collection(s) that provide access to the item. 

Print books in our collection are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system, an alphanumeric system that groups books by subject categories. Every book is assigned a call number, which gives clues to its contents and indicates where it lives on the shelf. When you find a book in the online catalog, the catalog record will include the book’s call number so that you can find it on the shelf.  

Call numbers are like an address with each section representing a different aspect of the book. Using TR268 .R46 2009 as an example... 

What is the meaning of the call number?

• TR268 represents the class or what the book is about.   
• .R46 represents the author.   
• 2009 represents the year of publication.   

Browse the Library of Congress Classification Schedule to see broadly how books are classified. 

As an alphanumeric system, the call numbers progress from A to Z and from smaller to larger numbers. When reading a call number, start from the left and move to the right. For example, A305 .L42 2005 would come before A4902 .D4 2000 because 305 is a smaller number than 4902. Similarly, HD208 .F56 1973 would come before HP208 .L332 2012 because HD comes before HP.  

Review this short tutorial video for a more in-depth explanation with visuals.  

Research Databases are collections of searchable information, organized by resource type and subject. JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, and Science Direct are examples of popular databases. Unlike the Library Catalog, databases provide the option to narrow your search to a specific collection of resources, such as streaming video or academic articles from psychology journals. 

• Access Research Databases from the Library homepage or here: https://libguides.evergreen.edu/az.php 
• From the full A-Z list, filter by subject, content type, or vendor. 

If you come across a journal, newspaper, or magazine you want to browse, you can use the Journal Search tab (at the top menu in the Library Catalog) to find full-text access to the journal and the date range of access.

You can also browse journals by category or search publication titles by keyword. Remember that you can always ask subject experts (like your professors!) for journal recommendations.