Skip to Main Content

Birds: Home

Start with Birds of the World Online

Databases

Birds of the World
BNA Online provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Environment Complete
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
JSTOR
Covers major academic journals in ornithology and has excellent historical coverage in the life sciences. ** choose different modules in the collection**

Journals of Note

Murrelet
Pacific Northwest Bird and Mammal Society. Society for Northwestern Vertebrate Biology. University of Washington. Museum. 1920-1988
Auk
The Auk: Ornithological Advances publishes research advancing the fundamental scientific knowledge of birds and of broad biological concepts through studies of bird species, often using innovative approaches and analyses.
Journal of Raptor Research
The Journal of Raptor Research publishes work on the biology and conservation of diurnal and nocturnal raptors, and contains articles describing their ecology, behavior, life history, conservation, and other topics.
Journal of Field Ornithology
Journal of Field Ornithology publishes articles that emphasize the descriptive/experimental study of birds in their natural habitats, particularly in the Neotropics. The Journal is also interested in studies involving nonprofessional ornithologists.

Rare Books

Reference Works

Online Books

Sturkie's Avian Physiology by Colin G. Scanes (Editor)
Call Number: QL698 .A85 2014 LOCATE
ISBN: 9780124071605
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Handbook of the Birds of the World by Josep del Hoyo (Editor); Andrew Elliott (Editor); Jordi Sargatal (Editor); Josep del Hoyo Calduch (Editor)
Call Number: Reference (QL673.H265 1992 )
ISBN: 9788487334108
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
The Crossley ID Guide. Raptors. by Richard Crossley; Jerry Liguori; Brian Sullivan
Call Number: Book Stacks (QL696.F3 C76 2013 )
ISBN: 9780691157405
Publication Date: 2013-04-07
Audubon's Birds of America by Roger Tory Peterson (Text by); Virginia Marie Peterson (Text by)
Call Number: Rare Oversize Books (QL681.A97 1981 )
ISBN: 9780789211354
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America by David Allen Sibley (Illustrator)
Call Number: Book Stacks (QL681 .S4942 2003a )
ISBN: 9780679451211
Publication Date: 2003-04-29

Another kind of birding: browse the library stacks: Starting at QL671 -

Birds of New Guinea by Bruce M. Beehler; Thane K. Pratt; Dale A. Zimmerman
Call Number: QL691.N48 B44 1986
ISBN: 9780691023946
Publication Date: 1986-06-21
Birds of Pakistan by Richard Grimmett; Tom Roberts; Tim Inskipp
Call Number: QL691.P18 G75 2008
ISBN: 0300152493
Publication Date: 2009-04-21
A Guide to the Birds of the Philippines by Robert S. Kennedy; Pedro C. Gonzales; Edward C. Dickinson; Hector C. Miranda; Timothy H. Fisher
Call Number: QL691.P5 G85 2000
ISBN: 9780198546689
Publication Date: 2000-10-19
The House of Owls by Tony Angell
Call Number: QL696.S8 A538 2015
ISBN: 9780300203448
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
The Field Guide to the Birds of East Africa by John Fanshawe; Terry Stevenson; Brian Small (Illustrator); John Gale (Illustrator); Norman Arlott (Illustrator)
Call Number: Reference (QL692.A353 S74 2002 )
ISBN: 0856610798
Publication Date: 2001-10-20

Field Recordings and Images

Endangered Species

Photo of Marbled Murrelet by Jenna Cragg

Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250