Research Guides: Race & Ethnicity: The Basics: Home

Databases

America, History & Life
Index. 1957 - present. Covers US and Canadian history with indexing in over 1,800 journals.
EBSCO
A large collection of databases. Pull down the subjects tab for ideas about how to limit your search, including the Sociology Thersaurus
Ethnic News Watch
Over 200 full-text publications of ethnic minority and native press -- English and Spanish.
Humanities Source
Full-text. Encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
JSTOR
Searches may be limited by a focus on African American, Asian American, Native American, Jewish, Latin American & Middle Eastern studies.
ScienceDirect
Good coverage of race at the intersections of social science & medicine

Reference Works

Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East by John A. Shoup
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1598843621
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Encyclopedia of African American Artists by dele jegede
ISBN: 9780313337611
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Jack Salzman (Editor); David L. Smith (Editor); Cornel West (Editor)
Call Number: Reference (PS153.N5 G73 2005 )
ISBN: 0028973453
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
American Immigrant Cultures
Call Number: Reference (E184.A1 A63448 1997 )
ISBN: 0028972082
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics by Jeffrey D. Schultz (Editor); Kerry L. Haynie (Editor); Anne McCulloch (Editor); Andrew L. Aoki (Editor); Helen Thomas (Foreword by)
Call Number: Reference (E184.A1 E574 2000 )
ISBN: 1573561290
Publication Date: 1999-12-31
Encyclopedia of Asian American Artists by Kara Kelley Hallmark
Call Number: Reference (N6538.A83 H35 2007 )
ISBN: 9780313334511
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies by Ellis Cashmore (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0203380703
Publication Date: 2004-03-01

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture

Ethnic Groups and Races
In U.S. History: E184
In Anthropology: GN537-GN674
In Labor: HD6050-HD6305
In Sociology: HT1501-HT1595
In Social Services: HV3176-HV3199

African Americans
In History: E 184.5-E185.98
In Education: LC2699-LC2913

Asian Americans
In History: E184
In Education: LC2630-LC2638

Immigrant Populations
In U.S. History: E184
In Social Services: HV4005-HV4013
In Education: LC3701-LC3747

Latino Americans
In History: E184
In Education: LC2667-LC2698

Native Americans
In History: E75-E99

For topics related to race and ethnicity, it may be necessary to think about how a population has been described in the past in order to come up with a complete list of effective search terms.

Ethnicity and Race in General
- antiracism
- antisemitism
- ethnic Groups
- ethnic Relations
- ethnicity
- Islamophobia
- minorities
- people of color
- race
- race discrimination
- racial
- racism

African Americans
- Afro Americans
- African Diaspora
- Blacks
- Colored people (in works written before the 1980s)
- Negroes (in works written before the 1970s)

Asian Americans
- Chinese Americans (or other specific nationalities)

Immigrant Populations
- immigrants
- emigration or immigration
- undocumented aliens
- [nationality] and immigration
(example: Guatemalans and immigration)

Latin Americans
- Latino/as
- Hispanics
- Hispanic Americans
- Chicano/as
- Mexican Americans (or other specific nationality)

Native Americans
- American Indians
- Indians of North America
- First Nations
- Native Americans
- Cowlitz Indians (or other specific tribes)

Digital Collections

Pageant of America - New York Public Library
A vast resources of photographs and paintings that document race in American history, from Buffalo Dancers to Chinese railway workers.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics
The Newberry Library: Digital Collections for the Classroom
"Art of Conflict: Portraying American Indians, 1850-1900," "Aphra Behn's Oroonoko: Slavery & Race in the Atlantic World," "Chicago and the Great Migration, 1915-1950," and much more, with primary sources, paintings, & maps.

Library of Congress

Statistical Information

US Census (Conducted every 10-years, a survey of population, housing, economic, and geographic data)

FedStats

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Indian Country Justice Statistics