Research Guides: Chemistry: Home

Databases

American Chemical Society publications
Full-text. 50 journals from the world's largest and most influential scientific society, providing the worldwide scientific community with cutting-edge research from the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.
ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
JSTOR
For historical information . . .
Environment Complete
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Google Scholar
Link to full text available from Evergreen Library. Perform citation searches. Search a wide variety of sources, from journal articles to books to government reports.
PubMed
Index. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to all the full text articles in PubMed Central.
Nature
Journal. 1997-Present. Nature is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology

Selected Journals

Web Resources

NIST Chemistry WebBook
• Thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds:
• Reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions.
• IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds.
• Mass spectra for over 33,000 compounds.
• UV/Vis spectra for over 1600 compounds.
• Gas chromatography data for over 27,000 compounds.
• Electronic and vibrational spectra for over 5000 compounds.
• Constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds.
• Ion energetics data for over 16,000 compounds
Proper Citation of NIST WebBook
OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
• Physical Properties
• Exposure Guidelines
• NIOSH Pocket Guide, and
• Emergency Response Information, including the DOT Emergency Response Guide.
Green Chemistry - Environmental Protection Agency
Resource for defining library research projects
• Ingredients used in Safer Choice-labeled products
• Design for the Environment Alternatives assessments
• Green Engineering textbook
• Pollution prevention at EPA
• Innovation at EPA

Online Reference

Treatise on Water Science (Four-Volume Set) by Peter A. Wilderer
ISBN: 9780444531995
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
From Science Direct, detailed information on aquatic chemistry.

More Online Reference Works from Science Direct
Find CAS registry numbers
Find the CAS registry number and profiles of chemicals, including thermodynamic data and more.
Search by CAS Registry Number in NIST

Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry by Miguel de la Guardia (Editor); Salvador Garrigues (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780470972014
Publication Date: 2012-04-23
Check the library catalog for many more e-books

Print Reference Works

The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE RS51.M4 2006 - Older editions in Stacks
ISBN: 9781849736701
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by John Rumble (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE QD65.H3 - Older editions in Stacks
ISBN: 9781138561632
Publication Date: 2018-06-14
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.

American Chemical Society Style

American Chemical Society Style Guide
Provides examples of how to cite different sources.
Zotero
See it. Save it. Sort it. Search it. Cite it. - A free, easy-to-use way to collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources.
Zotero application for Journal of Chemical Education
Use the link above to access the Zotero Style Repository for thousands of journals and associations. Click on the desired link to download into your Zotero application.

Chemistry: Home

Databases

Selected Journals

Web Resources

Library Home Page Library Databases Online Journals

Online Reference

Print Reference Works

American Chemical Society Style