Research Guides: Copyright, Fair Use, and Scholarly Communication: Research and Program Support

Copyright and Fair Use at Evergreen

For questions about Evergreen's copyright and fair use policies, please contact the following people:

for questions about copyright and fair use, contact: Ahniwa Ferrari, Associate Dean of Library Operations
for questions about scanning documents for course reserves, contact: Jena Rosen, Circulation & Reserves Specialist

College Policies and Procedures:

Reserves Services at the Library

PLACING AN ITEM ON RESERVE:

Items must be brought to the Circulation Desk by faculty or a designated class aide.
You will find Reserve Forms at the Circulation Desk, which should be filled out in full when submitting items.
Reserve items are processed with security tape, barcode, and labels and are added to the library catalog.
Please allow 24 hours for processing Mon-Thurs, except for the first two weeks of each quarter when more time may be needed. Items received after 3 p.m. on Fridays may not be processed until Monday.
Reserve lists are processed in the order we receive them. We will try our best to accommodate emergency requests.
Each program or contract is limited to a total of twenty-five (25) physical items, for two reasons: because of space limitations, and to make sure that no section of our collection is removed from circulation. Also, to comply with fair use guidelines, there is a limit of two physical copies of any particular title.

OPEN RESERVE: The library provides program books for short-term checkout. These items may be found on the main floor near the Reference Collection, these items may be used in the library or checked out for two days.

CLOSED RESERVE: Only personally owned items may be placed in this collection. Students check out Closed Reserve items for in-library-use only.

SCANNING: All scanned items are limited to 15% of the entire work (and 25 page maximum - for scanning jobs over 25 pages, please go to the Copy Center). Scans are accessible via class Canvas sites.

ITEMS THAT CANNOT BE PLACED ON RESERVE:

Summit Items
Interlibrary Loan Items
Photocopies of Entire Books
Compilations and Course Packets
Reproductions of VHS or DVDs

In accordance with copyright law (Title 17 US Code), please make certain that all materials are used in accordance with "fair use" agreements.

The following are specifically prohibited by copyright guidelines:

Copying/Scanning used to create, replace, or substitute for anthologies, compilations, or collective works
Copying/Scanning of "consumable materials" (i.e., workbook, exercises and standardized tests)
Copying/Scanning used to substitute for the purchase of books, periodicals or publisher reprints

When items are removed from the Reserve shelves at the end of the designated quarter, you will be notified by email and may retrieve the items at the Circulation Desk.

Thank you for your cooperation. Please contact Jena Rosen via email or call ext. 6580 if you have any questions or comments.

Evergreen Library Resources

Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by Kenneth D. Crews
Call Number: KF2995 .C74 2012
ISBN: 9780838910924
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Readers will: Learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services;
find information quickly with “key points” sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; understand the four factors of fair use and related court interpretations; get up to speed on current interpretations of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act from a librarian-educator viewpoint
Clearance and Copyright by Michael C. Donaldson; Lisa A. Callif
Call Number: KF3070 .D66 2014
ISBN: 9781935247128
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Clearance and Copyright is the industry-standard guide to almost every conceivable rights issue that filmmakers, videomakers, television producers, and Internet content creators might encounter.

From the initial acquisition of material through the rights issues that arise during preproduction, production, postproduction, and release, this legalese-free guide--now extensively revised, updated, and expanded--will help you protect yourself and your work from disastrous legal actions.

Copyright Guidelines

The Evergreen State College Library makes every effort to observe copyright law while allowing fair use of its materials in an educational setting.

Video and Film

Videos and films in The Evergreen State College collection are intended for classroom or private showing only. Any other use without written permission from the distributor may be in violation of copyright law. For more information regarding films and videos contact Ray Zill.

Photocopying

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of reproductions of copyrighted material. Individuals using photocopiers or computers in the Evergreen State College Library are responsible for any infringement.

The distribution of the same photocopied material should not occur every quarter without expressed permission of the copyright holder.
Each student should make only one personal photocopy. No multiple copies for others should be made.
A copyright notice should appear on the first page of the portion of material photocopied.
For more information, see the Model Policy Concerning College and University Photocopying for Classroom, Research, and Library Reserve Use published by the American Library Association.

Using Databases Responsibly

The Evergreen State College contracts with publishers and vendors to provide access to a number of electronic resources (databases, abstracts, ejournals, ebooks, full-text, etc.).

In addition to paying for these resources, the Library negotiates license agreements that stipulate how and by whom they may be used. If licensing terms are violated by anyone, licensors usually have the right to temporarily or permanently suspend access for the entire college community. You can help prevent problems by following the "do's and don'ts" and avoiding improper use.

Posting Materials Electronically

There are many questions regarding posting electronic materials for students in program Web sites, and the laws of copyright which govern distribution of electronic materials for a class or academic program. Guidelines for posting materials on a Web site fall within the Fair Use guidelines of copyright law. Library staff are happy to answer questions and assist in posting materials electronically. For more information on electronic posting, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions page.