Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Selected Books on Mass Incarceration
MoMA American Museum of Modern Art
The Sentencing Project
The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by producing groundbreaking research to promote reforms in sentencing policy, address unjust racial disparities and practices, and to advocate for alternatives to incarceration.
Prison Policy Initiative
The non-profit, non-partisan Prison Policy Initiative produces cutting edge research to expose the broader harm of mass criminalization, and then sparks advocacy campaigns to create a more just society.
FederalBureau of Prisons (BOP)
Our agency was established in 1930 to provide more progressive and humane care for federal inmates, to professionalize the prison service, and to ensure consistent and centralized administration of federal prisons.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics of the U.S. Department of Justice is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring crime, criminal victimization, criminal offenders, victims of crime, correlates of crime, and the operation of criminal and civil justice systems at the federal, state, tribal, and local levels.
NAACP Criminal Justice Fact Sheet
The criminal justice system is heavily impacted by the bias of police mentality, as well as outdated judicial precedents. It is largely driven by racial disparities, which directly obstruct and deconstruct our minority communities.
Center for American Progress
Building on the achievements of progressive pioneers such as Teddy Roosevelt and Martin Luther King, CAP addresses 21st century challenges such as race and criminal justice.
Southern Poverty Law Center
With a staff of more than 100 lawyers and advocates, SPLC focuses on impact litigation in these practice areas: Children’s Rights, Economic Justice, Immigrant Justice, LGBTQ Rights, Voting Rights, and Criminal Justice Reform.
Washington State Resources
University Beyond Bars
UBB serves incarcerated individuals at the Washington State Reformatory in Monroe, WA, offering transferable AA and BA degrees along with a range of cultural and college prep classes and an Arts and Lecture series that is open to the entire prison population. Each semester UBB offers approximately 25 courses to over 300 students, many of whom are attending college for the first time.
Post Prison Education Program
Studies show that two years of post-secondary education reduces the rate of recidivism by more than 50%.
Freedom Education Project - Puget Sound
FEPPS provides a rigorous college program for incarcerated women, trans-identified and gender nonconforming people in Washington and creates pathways to higher education after students are released from prison. Our goals are to increase FEPPS students’ economic and personal empowerment, contribute to family stability and reduce recidivism through college education.
Some full text. From 1966 - present. This is the main scholarly database for Education. Contains more than 1.6 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. Includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Ethnic News Watch
Includes newspapers, scholarly journals, and magazines with a focus on African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native People.
Full text. HeinOnline is a large image based legal research collection and contains important political science information, legal history, journals, case law and government documents. It contains more than 130 million pages across more than 60 individual databases, all of which are fully searchable PDF copies of the original print publications.
Full text. Containing full text for more than 300 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world, including criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime, the environment and more.
Indexes 2,500 journals & links to full-text of about 80 APA journals in the PsycArticles database.1880 - present. Content is international and interdisciplinary; more than 8,400 controlled vocabulary terms; cited references since 2001.
Mostly full text, including a full range of social science and health issues related to mass incarceration
Sociology Source Ultimate
Full text. A social sciences database that includes 1072 full-text journals and 26,000 author profiles. Subject include economic development, population, gender studies, religion, social movements, and much more.
To Locate e-videos, go the library homepage,
enter your subject--e.g. prisons--and then limit
your results to e-videos by filtering the search
in the lefthand column.
Shakespeare Behind Bars
Incarcerated Workers Organizing Committee
On September 9, 2016 IWOC were part of a coalition of inside and outside groups that launched the largest prison strike in US history. Resistance to prison slavery continues with work stoppages, hunger strikes and other acts of resistance to business as usual.