Selected Databases

American Chemical Society publications
Full-text. 50 journals from the world's largest and most influential scientific society, providing the worldwide scientific community with cutting-edge research from the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.
ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
JSTOR
Full-text. A multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, with an emphasis in the humanities and social sciences.
Environment Complete
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Google Scholar
Some full-text. First, you need to connect to the library holdings. A simple way to search for scholarly literature, across many disciplines and publication types--articles, theses, books, abstracts, reports, and court opinions--from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Academic Search Complete
Mostly full-text. A broad multidisciplinary database. A good place to start, especially if you are uncertain where else to look.

Selected Books

Washington State

Department of Ecology
Link to research and data on Air & Cliimate, Water & Shorelines, Waste & Toxics, Spills & Cleanup and more.Everything from ongoing research on dissolved oxygen in Puget Sound to sediment monitoring to initiatives to clean up contaminated sites. This would also be a good place to start exploring topics such as the "Hirst Decision."
USGS Water Data for Washington
NOAA - National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration - Puget Sound Action Plan The Puget Sound Action Plan is one component of NOAA's nation-wide Habitat Blueprint. NOAA is developing and implementing new habitat-based solutions to support healthy and productive ecosystems by expanding partnerships, prioritizing activities, and developing practices that will restore habitat for the benefit of living marine resources and coastal communities.

____________________________________________________________

Encyclopedias
Including Reference Module in Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences; Encyclopedia of Geology; and Treatise on Geomorphology . . . A good place to look for background information on topics like "watershed management."
Washington State Geospatial Open Data Portal
Interactive maps, geology, environment, water, imagery, and more
Washington State Geologic Information Portal
The Washington Geologic Information Portal puts complex geologic and hazards information into the hands of everyone, including you. This application allows you to quickly compare and synthesize data of different types to help solve a variety of problems.
The National Map
National Geologic Map Database

Legal Research

FindLaw
Full-text. FindLaw provides the most comprehensive set of legal resources on the Internet for legal professionals, businesses, students and individuals. These resources include cases and codes, legal news, an online career center, as well as legal forms and business contract templates.
HeinOnline
Full text. HeinOnline is a large image based legal research collection and contains important political science information, legal history, journals, case law and government documents. It contains more than 130 million pages across more than 60 individual databases, all of which are fully searchable PDF copies of the original print publications.

Global Newsstream
Full-text. From 1980 - present. Recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
Newspaper Source Plus
Mostly full-text. Digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Times (UK), USA Today, The Washington Post, and others.