Research Guides: Integrated Natural Science: Home

Databases

Try to select keywords that are precise. For instance, you might choose yersinia pestis over more general terms, such as: bacteria & bubonic & plague. Or you might choose Hemitrichia serpula instead of pretzel slime mold.

BioMed Central
Full-text. Open-access, peer-reviewed journals that span all areas of biology, medicine and health.
Birds of the World
Full-text. Comprehensive life histories; authoritative literature reviews; audio and video field recordings.
Environment Complete
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
JSTOR
Full-text, scholarly journals (and some books) with historical depth. Includes 87 journals in Botany & Plant Sciences, 4 in Developmental and Cell Biology, 69 in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, 44 in Zoology.

PLoS One
Public Library of Science - peer reviewed articles available without charge to users.
PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases
PLoS Pathogens

PubMed
Index. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to all the full text articles in PubMed Central.
ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.

United States Fish & Wildlife Service Conservation Library
Journals and reports on a wide range of topics

Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Life
Integrated Taxonomic Information System, media, maps, life history, conservation
ITIS - Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Excellent place to identify scientific name of organism/animal
The NCBI Taxonomy Homepage

Streaming media

To find streaming media, visit the Library Catalog.

Enter a broad subject term, such as virology or protists

Limit your search by pulling down the "All items" menu underneath the search box, on the left, and selecting "Film and Video". Note that you can also limit to e-books!

For more information on finding streaming media resources, visit the Electronic Resources LibGuide.

Integrated Natural Science

Information Literacy & Assessment Librarian

Chat

How-to Guide

Databases

Reference Works

Streaming media