|
Bookends: A Library Newsletter | 4/7/2023 |
Spring quarter is often the quietest of the regular academic year which means more quiet spaces and room to spread out for the students who do come in. And just like every quarter, we’ve got tons of great resources and helpful people, and we hope you’ll come visit us!
Read on to learn about some of our workshops, events, and resources we are highlighting this quarter.
The Rare Books Room will be closed starting Monday, April 17th for renovations. To access the collection, please email rarebooks@evergreen.edu with your preferred day, time, and any titles you'd like to see. Please allow 1 full work day for individual appointments and 3 work days for class visits. We hope to have renovations completed before the end of July.
Learn more about our Rare Books Room and collection at https://libguides.evergreen.edu/rarebooks
On display all quarter, come check out The Gateways Collection exhibit through the library’s main floor, honoring 26 years of the Gateways for Incarcerated Youth Program. On display in the library basement is Framing Moments, an exhibit celebrating the campus’s Children’s Center.
Framing Moments Exhibit Reception: Wednesday, April 12, 5-7pm, LIB 0400 (Library Archives)
The Gateways Collection Exhibit Reception: Thursday, May 18
Thursday, April 13, 5:30 – 7:30pm in COM 110. The library is pleased to partner with local non-profit organization, Arbutus Folk School, to host this monthly acoustic music open mic event. Musicians at all levels are welcome! Performers may play original songs or covers, up to 2 songs or 10 minutes per performer. Find out more and sign up to play on the Arbutus Open Mic page.
Collective Liberation through Artist Books: Wednesday, April 19, 2:15 – 3:15pm. Self-publishing and book arts have been influential at The Evergreen State College since it's founding. In this presentation, you will discover the individual and community expressions within the intimate spaces of artist books. Hear from Ray Zill, Rare Books Librarian, and Rachel Bliven, student book artist, as they show how storytelling through book arts is able to affirm identity and impact larger social movements. We will offer a presentation on the history and practice of book making as well as an opportunity to see and touch artist books.
Find Yourself on the Shelf: A Curated Library of Belonging: Thursday, April 20, 1:00pm. You belong at the library. Stop by to browse a curated collection of library materials by and about voices marginalized in our community. We hope you can find yourself on the shelf. But, if you can't, Ren and Ray will show you how to request new materials. We want to build a welcoming and inclusive library collection together.
Thursday, April 25 from 3:00 – 4:00pm in Evans Hall 2617 (Windows/Linux Computer Lab). Zotero is a free citation manager that allows users to create a personal library for collecting, organizing, annotating, and citing resources. Join Leah Cover for this open workshop to set up a Zotero account and learn the basics of using this tool for courses, research projects, and personal interests. More information: https://libguides.evergreen.edu/blog/Zotero
Tuesday, May 2 from 4:00 – 5:00pm via Zoom. A common scenario: You've found a number of great sources for a literature review or research project, and you're struggling to synthesize all of these sources in your writing. Join Leah Cover for this open workshop to practice putting sources into conversation with one another in your writing. More information: https://libguides.evergreen.edu/blog/Synthesizing-Sources
Friday, May 19, 4:00 – 6:00pm in the Library Underground. Come one, come all to our quarterly Writers' Open Mic Night hosted by The Evergreen Library and Writing Center. This in-person event will be an entirely open mic with no scheduled performers. Show up early to sign in and perform your poetry, music, storytelling, comedy, performance art, or anything you have written.
|
|
|
|
Up on the Mountain: Up on the Mountain is a feature length documentary that follows three different groups of commercial mushroom pickers as they travel on the "mushroom circuit"--a year-round migration that can take them anywhere from Alaska to California, Washington, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, and Wyoming--to harvest wild mushrooms from public forests.
First Daughter and the Black Snake: Winona LaDuke focuses on Enbridge's pipelines for fracked oil, it's dangers and how the shale oil boom is adversely affecting Indian Country. She gathers musicians, young people and native leadership, puts them on horses, organizes in northern Minnesota lake communities and creates a movement.
Woman at War: Halla is a fifty-year-old independent woman. But behind the scenes of a quiet routine, she leads a double life as a passionate environmental activist. Known to others only by her alias “The Woman of the Mountain,” Halla secretly wages a one-woman-war on the local aluminum industry.
April is National Poetry Month! The Writing Center encourages you to write poems in abundance! Check out our Poet/Poem of the Day posted outside the Center on Mondays-Thursdays during April.
Writers' Circle returns Wednesday nights, weeks 2-10, 5-7pm, in the Writing Center. Write and share your writing in community with other writers! No appointment necessary. Just bring your creativity! Prompts, pens, and paper provided!
Graduating Seniors! The Writing Center reminds you that your final Academic Statement is due by Graduation Day, Friday, June 16th. Your voice in your transcript matters, and our staff is eager to support you in creating the best representation of you and your Evergreen education. In addition to meeting with tutors to discuss and receive feedback, we also have a comprehensive writing guide in various formats on our website and in print format available for library checkout. The guide includes everything you could possibly need to know to begin, revise, edit, and submit your Academic Statement.
Photoland facilities are open and free to use for all Evergreen students, faculty and staff! In addition to the photography facilities, Photoland sells film, photo paper and inkjet printing. Visit Photoland on the first floor of Evan's Hall to find out all about these spaces and services.
Photoland hours of operation for Spring 2023 are:
The black and white darkroom and film processing facilities require a proficiency training prior to use. Upcoming proficiencies will be announced on Photoland's website.
Visit the website and follow Photoland on Instagram @evergreen_photoland to stay up to date on upcoming events and exhibitions.
We are the library for all of Evergreen's students, studying at all levels, in all programs and at all campuses. Reach out and we will do our best to help your student experience be successful and fulfilling. We update our social media accounts regularly and would love to hear from you. Otherwise, feel free to email us any time at libraryhelp@evergreen.edu or give us a call at (360) 867-6580.
Find us on: Instagram | Facebook | Discord | YouTube
|
Develop your critical thinking and research skills. Study, create, and explore in the library. |
0 Comments.