Skip to Main Content

Mythology: Asia

Hell of Shrieking Sounds from the Jigoku zoshi

Peach Blossom Spring [Tao Hua-chien]

Garuda, Vishnu's mount of Hindu myth

Aulad Tied to a Tree: Illustration from the Shahnama of Firdausi

Countenance of Hills and Rivers

New Year's Eve, Fox Fires by the Nettle Tree at Oji

The Jain Universe in the form of the cosmic person

Regions of Asia

Asian Folklore Reference

A Dictionary of Asian Mythology by David Leeming
Call Number: BL1005 .L46 2001
ISBN: 0195120523
Publication Date: 2001-05-24

Caucasus

Nart Sagas from the Caucasus by John Colarusso (Editor)
ISBN: 140086528X
Publication Date: 2014-09-15
Tales of the Narts by John Colarusso (Editor); Tamirlan Salbiev (Editor); Walter May (Translator)
Call Number: GR203.2.O88 T35 2016
ISBN: 9780691170404
Publication Date: 2016-06-28

Central Asia

The Assemblies of Al-Hariri by Amina Shah
ISBN: 0900860863
Publication Date: 1981-03-01
The Story of Barzu by Ravshan Rahmoni (Editor); Gabrielle van den Berg (Editor)
ISBN: 9087281161
Publication Date: 2013-08-15

East Asia

From the Mango Tree and Other Folktales from Nepal by Kavita Ram Shrestha; Sarah Marwil Lamstein
Call Number: GR307.N4 S57 1997
ISBN: 9781563083785
Publication Date: 1997-01-15
History of rice in India : mythology, culture, and agriculture by Tuk-Tuk Kumar
Call Number: SB191.R5 K843 1988
Publication Date: 1955
Maithil Women's Tales by Coralynn V. Davis
ISBN: 9780252038426
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
Myths + legends of India by William Radice
Call Number: BL2001.2 .M98 2001
Publication Date: 1951
Myths and Symbols in Indian Art and Civilization by Heinrich Robert Zimmer; Joseph Campbell (Editor)
Call Number: BL2003 .Z5 1972
ISBN: 069109800X
Publication Date: 1946-01-21
Spell of the Tiger by Sy Montgomery
Call Number: GR307.S86 M66 1995
ISBN: 0395641691
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
Storytellers, Saints, and Scoundrels by Kirin Narayan
Call Number: BL1215.S85 N37 1989
ISBN: 0812281195
Publication Date: 1989-08-29
Women, Androgynes, and Other Mythical Beasts by Wendy D. O'Flaherty
Call Number: BL2001.2 .O36
ISBN: 9780226618494
Publication Date: 1999-07-15

North Asia

The Flying Tiger by Kira Van Deusen
ISBN: 0773521550
Publication Date: 2001-02-02
Kiviuq by Kira Van Deusen
ISBN: 9780773535008
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Singing Story, Healing Drum by Kira Van Deusen
ISBN: 9780773526167
Publication Date: 2004-03-10
Soul hunters hunting, animism, and personhood among the Siberian Yukaghirs by Rane Willerslev
ISBN: 0520252160
Publication Date: 2007-08-24

Aleut Tales

South Asia

Chinese Mythology by Anne M. Birrell; Yuan Ko (Foreword by)
Call Number: BL1825 .B57 1993
ISBN: 9780801845956
Publication Date: 1982-06-01
The Columbia Anthology of Chinese Folk and Popular Literature by Mark Bender (Editor); Victor Mair (Editor)
Call Number: GR335 .C64 2011
ISBN: 9780231153126
Publication Date: 2011-05-03
Dab neeg hmoob by Pa Chou Yang Se Yang Charles Johnson
Call Number: GR311 .D3313 1985
Publication Date: 1927- ©1985
Echoes from Old China by K. S. Tom
Call Number: DS721 .T59 1989
ISBN: 0824812859
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Essential Chinese Mythology by Martin Palmer
Call Number: BL1825 .P35 1997
ISBN: 1855384760
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
The Nuosu Book of Origins by Mark Bender (Translator); Aku Wuwu (Translator); Jjivot Zopqu (As told to); Stevan Harrell (Series edited by)
ISBN: 0295745681
Publication Date: 2019-08-01

The Book of Yokai by Michael Dylan Foster; Shinonome Kijin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780520271012
Publication Date: 2015-01-14
The Fox's Craft in Japanese Religion and Culture by Michael Bathgate
Call Number: BL2211.I5 B37 2004
ISBN: 0415968216
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
A Japanese miscellany; Strange stories; Folklore gleanings; Studies here & there by Lafcadio Hearn
Japanese Mythology by Jun'ichi Isomae; Mukund Subramanian
ISBN: 1845531825
Publication Date: 2014-08-08

All the Way to Lhasa by Barbara Helen Berger (Illustrator); Barbara Berger
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.B4163 Al 2002
ISBN: 0399233873
Publication Date: 2002-09-30
The Bon Religion of Tibet by Per Kvaerne
Call Number: BQ7981.2 .K83 1996
ISBN: 1570621861
Publication Date: 2001-08-21
Mt. Kailāsa : source for the sacred in early Indian and Tibetan tradition by Nathan S. Cutler
Call Number: BL1812.M68 C88 1996a
Publication Date: 1996
Tales of Uncle Tompa by Rinjing Dorje
Call Number: GR337 .R56 1997
ISBN: 1886449406
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Tibetan Folk Tales by Frederick Hyde-Chambers; Audrey Hyde-Chambers
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.H998 Ti 2001
ISBN: 1570628920
Publication Date: 2001-10-16

Tibetan Folk Tales

Gods, Ghosts, and Ancestors by David K. Jordan
Call Number: BL1975 .J67 1972
ISBN: 0520019628
Publication Date: 1972-01-01
Tales from the Taiwanese by Gary Marvin Davison
Call Number: GR338 .D38 2004
ISBN: 1591581117
Publication Date: 2004-08-30

Korean Folk Tales by James Riordan (Retold by)
Call Number: GR342 .R56 1994
ISBN: 0192741608
Publication Date: 1994-12-15
The Legend of Hong Kil Dong by Anne Sibley O'Brien (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6727.O27 T36 2008
ISBN: 9781580893039
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Transforming Gender and Emotion by Sookja Cho
ISBN: 0472130633
Publication Date: 2018-03-08

Southeast Asia

Dab neeg hmoob by Pa Chou Yang, Se Yang, Charles Johnson
Call Number: GR311 .D3313 1985
Publication Date: 1927
Folk Stories of the Hmong by Norma J. Livo; Dia Cha
Call Number: GR308.5.H67 F65 1991
ISBN: 0872878546
Publication Date: 1991-09-15
Under the Starfruit Tree by Alice M. Terada (Editor); Janet Larsen (Illustrator)
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.T259 Un 1989
ISBN: 0824812522
Publication Date: 1989-10-01

West Asia/Middle East

Arab Folklore by Dwight Fletcher Reynolds
Call Number: GR268.A73 R49 2007
ISBN: 9780313333118
Publication Date: 2007-09-30
The Clever Boy and the Terrible, Dangerous Animal/el Muchachito Listo y el Terrible y Peligroso Animal by Idries Shah; Rose Mary Santiago (Illustrator); Rita Wirkala (Translator)
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.S47 Cl 2005
ISBN: 1883536391
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Folklore and Folklife in the United Arab Emirates by Sayyid Hamid Hurriez
Call Number: GR268.A73 H87 2002
ISBN: 0700714138
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
The Folktales of Palestine by Farah Aboubakr
Call Number: GR285 .A26 2019
ISBN: 9781788314268
Publication Date: 2019-03-21
Lugalbanda by Kathy Henderson; Jane Ray (Illustrator)
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.H3835 Li 2006
ISBN: 0763627828
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
Myth, ritual, and kingship : essays on the theory and practice of kingship in the ancient Near East and in Israel by S. H. (Samuel Henry) Hooke
Call Number: BL325.K5 H6
Publication Date: 1958
One City, Two Brothers by Chris Smith; Aurélia Fronty (Illustrator)
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.S6482 One 2007
ISBN: 1846860423
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Ritual Medical Lore of Sephardic Women by Isaac Jack Levy; Rosemary Zumwalt
Call Number: GR98 .L48 2002
ISBN: 9780252026973
Publication Date: 2001-12-05
Tales Arab Women Tell by Hasan M. El-Shamy
Call Number: GR268.A73 T35 1999
ISBN: 9780253335296
Publication Date: 1999-12-22
Tunjur! Tunjur! Tunjur! by Margaret Read MacDonald; Alik Arzoumanian (Illustrator)
Call Number: CHILDREN'S COLLECTION PZ8.1.M15924 Tun 2006
ISBN: 0761452257
Publication Date: 2006-03-01

Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250