Research Guides: Introduction to Environmental Studies: Indigenous Natural Resource Management: News Sources

Newspapers & Magazines

Recommended News Databases

Research Databases are collections of searchable information, organized by resource type and subject. Unlike the Library Catalog, databases provide the option to narrow your search to a specific collection of resources, such as regional news.

NewsBank Access World News
Full text. Find global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Ethnic News Watch
Full text. Covers 1990 - Present. Comprehensively provides newspaper, journal, and magazine resources that cover these ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People. Resources can be found In both English and Spanish languages.
Alt Press Watch
Full-text. Showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
Diversity Collection
Full text. Diversity Collection provides a global view of some of the biggest topics in diversity, equity, and inclusion. It focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. The collection aims to bring out dissenting and minority voices to support research and teaching in women’s studies, lgbtq studies, ethnic studies, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus
Mostly full-text. Digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Times (UK), USA Today, The Washington Post, and others.
Global Newsstream
Full-text. From 1980 - present. Recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
News OneFile
Full-text. Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Recommended Publications

If you come across a journal, newspaper, or magazine you want to browse, you can use the Journal Search tab (at the top menu in the Library Catalog) to find full-text access to the journal and the date range of access.

The Bellingham Herald
ICT News
Ka Wai Ola News
Koori Mail News
Maori Television
National Indigenous Times
The New York Times Step 1: Click the link above. Step 2: Search for and click “The Evergreen State College - Olympia, WA” Step 3: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus If you already have an account with the NYT that you pay for, you will need to cancel your subscription before claiming this free access.
New Zealand Herald
Northwest Treaty Tribes Magazine
The Olympian
The Seattle Times
Stuff NZ
Te Ao Māori News

Tips for navigating NewsBank World Access

Search the catalog to see if we have access to a newspaper or periodical. When I search Bellingham Herald, for example, I get several results pointing to the various versions available. The important information is that it’s available through NewsBank.
Select the link to go to NewsBank. You can also access NewsBank from our Databases A-Z.
Once in NewsBank, go to A-Z Source List at the very top.
Search “Bellingham Herald” and select all the versions you might want to search. For this search, I selected them all, just in case -- Web Edition, Videos, Blogs, etc.
Once you’ve selected the publications you’re searching within, you can search for a specific title or a keyword. Since the title may be slightly (or radically!) different than what you’ve found on Google, I would suggest using 1-2 keywords and limiting by the year/month and browsing to find the article. Even limiting by exact date can lead you astray. The version I find on Google might say it was published on September 4, 2015, and the article I find in the database is September 2, 2015.