Research Guides: Environmental Health & Policy: Home

Databases

Alt Press Watch
Full-text. Showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
American Chemical Society publications
Full-text. 50 journals from the world's largest and most influential scientific society, providing the worldwide scientific community with cutting-edge research from the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.
Birds of the World
Full-text. Comprehensive life histories; authoritative literature reviews; audio and video field recordings.
Environment Complete
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.

Municipal Research and Services Center
Includes information on municipal law, finance, urban planning, public works, and public management, including land use, environmental regulations, population growth.
Environmental Protection Agency
Solutions for the Environmental Health of Communities
Centers for Disease Control - National Center for Environmental health
plans, directs, and coordinates a national program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors
EPA - National Environmental Policy Act
Includes a link to the Citizens Guide to the NEPA

Audubon Climate Change Report
Earth Systems Governance
The Earth System Governance Project is a prominent social science research network in the area of governance and global environmental change.
ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
Started in 1990 as the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives
IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
Includes links to reports
IUCN - International Union for Conservation of Nature
Includes list of endangered species . . .
WHO - World Health Organization
Environmental Health . . .

Technoscience and Environmental Justice by Gwen Ottinger (Editor); Benjamin R. Cohen (Editor); David A. Ottinger; Kim Fortun (Afterword by)
ISBN: 0262516187
Publication Date: 2011-09-02
Environmental Justice by Gordon Walker
ISBN: 0415589746
Publication Date: 2012-02-09
Understanding Environmental Policy by Steven Cohen
Call Number: Book Stacks (GE170 .C62 2006 )
ISBN: 0231135378
Publication Date: 2006-06-06
Available as e-book and in print
Encyclopedia of Ecology by S. E. Jorgensen
ISBN: 0080454054
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Excellent starting point for background on ecological engineering topics, such as restoration methods of different ecological zones--streams, lakes, coastlines, estuaries . . . You'll also find articles on theories and methods in environmental studies.
The Political Economy of Environmental Justice by Spencer Banzhaf (Editor)
ISBN: 0804780617
Publication Date: 2012-07-04

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States as well as data on geography and environment. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Census Data

Department of Ecology
Everything from ongoing research on dissolved oxygen in Puget Sound to sediment monitoring to initiatives to clean up contaminated sites.

Sound Waves Monthly Newsletter: Coastal and Marine Research News from Across the USGS
See “Virus Calculated as Culprit Killing Sea Stars” by Ben Young Landis
in Jan/Feb 2015 issue
NOAA - National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration - Puget Sound Action Plan
The Puget Sound Action Plan is one component of NOAA's nation-wide Habitat Blueprint. NOAA is developing and implementing new habitat-based solutions to support healthy and productive ecosystems by expanding partnerships, prioritizing activities, and developing practices that will restore habitat for the benefit of living marine resources and coastal communities.