Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Panorama of Hamilton, Ontario steel mills. Image from Wikicommons
Alt Press Watch
Full-text. Showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
American Chemical Society publications
Full-text. 50 journals from the world's largest and most influential scientific society, providing the worldwide scientific community with cutting-edge research from the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.
Birds of the World
Full-text. Comprehensive life histories; authoritative literature reviews; audio and video field recordings.
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Full text. Major resource for legal documents and analysis, business information, and news. Includes articles from over 3,000 local, national and international newspapers, including wire services and transcripts from major news networks. Contains federal case law and statutes, the U.S. Code, law reviews, state legal research, and U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Provides business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives.
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
Govenment Resources - Selected
Municipal Research and Services Center
Includes information on municipal law, finance, urban planning, public works, and public management, including land use, environmental regulations, population growth.
Environmental Protection Agency
Solutions for the Environmental Health of Communities
Centers for Disease Control - National Center for Environmental health
plans, directs, and coordinates a national program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors
EPA - National Environmental Policy Act
Includes a link to the Citizens Guide to the NEPA
Non Governmental Organizations
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States as well as data on geography and environment. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Saving Puget Sound
Department of Ecology
Everything from ongoing research on dissolved oxygen in Puget Sound to sediment monitoring to initiatives to clean up contaminated sites.
The Encyclopedia of Puget Sound is published by the University of Washington to synthesize and share scientific information about the Puget Sound ecosystem. Sections such as the Puget Sound Science Review provide peer-reviewed synthetic reports designed as a grounding for ecosystem-based management in the region. The website also includes feature articles, geospatial data, species and habitat descriptions, archival documents, blogs and portals to other scientific data.