Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250
Encyclopedia of Ecology (online resource)
The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field.
Ecology (print book) by
Call Number: QH541 .E31933 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-23
Easy to read, well organized text for instructors and students to explore the basics of ecology. This edition contains an increasing emphasis on enhancing student quantitative and problem solving skills. A new Hone Your Problem Solving Skills series has been added to the set of review questions at the end of each chapter. The questions expose students to hypothetical situations or existing data sets, and allow them to work through data analysis and interpretation to better understand ecological concepts. Additional Analyzing Data exercises have been added to the Companion Website. These exercises enable students to enhance their essential skills sets, such as performing calculations, making graphs, designing experiments, and interpreting results. Additionally, Climate Change Connections have been added. These vignettes help students appreciate the many consequences of global climate change on the distributions and functions of organisms as well as the ecosystems they depend on.
The Princeton Guide to Ecology (online resource) by
Publication Date: 2009
The Princeton Guide to Ecology is a concise, authoritative one-volume reference to the field’s major subjects and key concepts. Edited by eminent ecologist Simon Levin, with contributions from an international team of leading ecologists, the book contains more than ninety clear, accurate, and up-to-date articles on the most important topics within seven major areas: autecology, population ecology, communities and ecosystems, landscapes and the biosphere, conservation biology, ecosystem services, and biosphere management. Complete with more than 200 illustrations (including sixteen pages in color), a glossary of key terms, a chronology of milestones in the field, suggestions for further reading on each topic, and an index, this is an essential volume for undergraduate and graduate students, research ecologists, scientists in related fields, policymakers, and anyone else with a serious interest in ecology.
Urban Ecology (online resource) by
Publication Date: 2010
Providing an overview of the essentials of urban ecology, the book begins by covering the vital background concepts of the urbanisation process and the effect that it can have on ecosystem functions and services. Later sections are devoted to examining how species respond to urbanisation, the many facets of human-ecology interactions, and the issues surrounding urban planning and the provision of urban green spaces. Drawing on examples from urban settlements around the world, it highlights the progress to date in this burgeoning field, as well as the challenges that lie ahead.
Google Scholar (start here)
Lots of full text, including links to Evergreen's holdings. A simple way to search for scholarly literature, across many disciplines and publication types--articles, theses, books, abstracts, reports, and court opinions--from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Mostly full-text. From 1900 - present. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Aggregate search. Some full-text. Ebscohost is a multidisciplinary database of databases and a good starting point if you want to see a broad scope on a topic.
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
Innovative ecological research of General interest to a broad international audience. Original research, concepts, reviews & syntheses, views/comments, special topics, methods. Open access option. Stringent peer review. Rapid publication.
Ecology publishes articles that report on the basic elements of ecological research. Emphasis is placed on concise, clear articles documenting important ecological phenomena. The journal publishes a broad array of research that includes a rapidly expanding envelope of subject matter, techniques, approaches, and concepts: paleoecology through present-day phenomena; evolutionary, population, physiological, community, and ecosystem ecology, as well as biogeochemistry; inclusive of descriptive, comparative, experimental, mathematical, statistical, and interdisciplinary approaches.
Ecological Applications is concerned broadly with the applications of ecological science to environmental problems. It publishes papers that develop scientific principles to support environmental decision-making, as well as papers that discuss the application of ecological concepts to environmental issues, policy, and management.
Journal of Ecology
Journal of Ecology publishes original articles on all aspects of the ecology of plants (including algae), in both aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems
Applied Soil Ecology
Applied Soil Ecology addresses the role of soil organisms and their interactions in relation to: sustainability and productivity, nutrient cycling and other soil processes, the maintenance of soil functions, the impact of human activities on soil ecosystems and bio(techno)logical control of soil-inhabiting pests, diseases and weeds.
Fire Ecology is the international scientific journal supported by the Association for Fire Ecology. Fire Ecology publishes peer-reviewed articles on all ecological and management aspects relating to wildland fire.
Journal of Freshwater Ecology
A vehicle for the reasonably rapid dissemination of current limnological information; deals with a wide variety of original ecological studies, observations, and techniques.