Research Guides: Public Health: Home

Library Article Databases

ScienceDirect
Mostly full-text. 2,500 journals and reference works and a full range of science and social science including herbal medicine, consciousness studies, mindfulness.
EBSCO
Aggregate search. Some full-text. Ebscohost is a multidisciplinary database of databases and a good starting point if you want to see a broad scope on a topic.
Health and Medicine OneFile
Full-text. Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Gale Power Search
Aggregate search. Full-text. This platform will enable you to search across all Gale databases and collections. Includes: Gale OneFile, Gale In Context, and Gale eBooks. Select which databases to search under the search box.
JSTOR
See esp. Health Policy and Health Sciences modules

Streaming Media & DVDs

Streaming Media Resources
A tutorial on how to find streaming media in the Evergreen Library

Alexander Street
Streaming media. Our largest streaming media collection spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Docuseek
Streaming media. Docuseek is a film platform hosting documentary films from distributors like Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Film Movement, First Run Features, and more. Request new purchases through the library, or browse our existing collection by clicking Browse Films in the top menu.

APHA Youtube Videos
Topics in public health

Unnatural causes : is inequality making us sick? by California Newsreel
Call Number: RA448.4 .U56 2008
A seven-part documentary series arguing that "health and longevity are correlated with socioeconomic status; people of color face an additional health burden, and our health and well-being are tied to policies that promote economic and social justice.

Description of CDC Public Health Goals

Local and National Resources

Feb. 2025 update: The Data Rescue Project is a collaborative effort working to recover and preserve access to public US government data that is at risk or has been removed from official websites.

American Public Health Association
APHA champions the health of all people and all communities by strengthening the public health profession and speaking out for public health issues and policies backed by science.
CDC Basic Public Health Information
These materials introduce public health core functions and essential services.
USDA: Nutrition and Public Health
Public health providers across the spectrum, from individual physicians to community clinics and hospitals, are realizing that treating food insecurity and poor nutrition as a health issue can lead to better health outcomes for patients, improvements in community health, and cost savings.
Indian Health Service
The Indian Health Service, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
National Institute on Mental Health
Basic research aimed at understanding how the brain produces behavior, transnational efforts to uncover novel treatment targets, clinical studies testing novel approaches in community settings: NIMH charted numerous routes linking these challenges and opportunities.
National Alliance on Mental Illness
an alliance of more than 600 local affiliates who work in your community to raise awareness and provide support and education that was not previously available to those in need.
National Association of Free & Charitable Clinics
The mission of the National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics is to ensure that the medically underserved have access to affordable quality health care.
Washington State Department of Social & Health Services
DSHS services are inclusive of aging and long-term care, behavioral health, development disabilities, vocational rehabilitation, Medicaid pathways based on age and disability, and other public benefits.
Behavioral Health Resources -- Lacey, WA
BHR is a multi-county provider for behavioral health and substance use disorder treatment, including information and educational resources.
University of Washington School of Public Health
The School of Public Health at the University of Washington hosts over 30 research centers and institutes and our investigators conduct cutting-edge research across a variety of disciplines.
Harvard School of Public Health
Public health is the science and practice of preventing disease, protecting health, and promoting well-being for all people. While doctors take care of individuals, those who work in public health focus on advancing the well-being of entire populations.
Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University
For more than 100 years, the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health has been a global leader in advancing education, research, and practice to prevent disease and disability and improve the health of entire populations.
Women's Health Center of Excellence
For 180 years, Brigham and Women’s Hospital has been a trusted name in women’s health. Boston, MA. See esp. their Research and Discovery page.
Children's Defense Fund -- Health
All children in America should have access to health and mental health coverage and care that is comprehensive, affordable, and easy to get and keep regardless of income, zip code, place of birth or immigration status.

Books and Reference Resources

Public Health 4.0: Creating Health for Longer Lives
Public Policy & Aging Report, Volume 33, Issue 3, 2023, Pages 86–91, https://doi.org/10.1093/ppar/prad016