Research Guides: Zines: Zine Collections

Online Zine Collections

Asian American Feminist Collective
A small collection of printable zines in PDF format.
DC Punk Archive
A virtual collection of zines from the DC Punk Archives collection at the Martin Luther King Jr Memorial Library branch of the DC Public Library. Many of the zines were written or collected by members of the DC music scene. Most of the zines in this collection were written in the 1980s, but publicatin dates range from the mid-1970s to present times.
Digital Transgender Archive: Zines
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. The 88 zines in the collection are courtesy of QZAP (Queer Zine Archive Project) and the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.
Quarantine Zine Club
Quarantine Zine Club was launched in April 2020, when Melbourne went into its first COVID-19 lockdown as a way for the zine community to stay connected during a period of isolation. This website acts as an archive of that time as of February 2021.
QZAP (Queer Zine Archive Project)
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) has been preserving queer zines since 2003 to make them available for anyone with an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities. QZAP offers a free on-line searchable database that allows you to download digital copies of historic and current queer zines.
Sherwood Forest Virtual Zine Library
Sherwood Forest has a virtual collection of over 1,000 downloadable and printable zines. Digital zines are organized by title and you can also browse by subject. Sherwood Forest also has a physical lending library of over 2,500 zines in Austin, Texas.
Sprout Distro
Sprout Distro is an anarchist zine distro (distributor) and publisher distribute zines as a way of contributing to anarchist projects and resistance. All Sprout Distro zines are available as PDFs for folks to download, print, and distribute.
Zine Union Catalog (ZINECAT)
Zinecat.org is a union catalog dedicated to zines! A union catalog is a resource where libraries can share cataloging and holdings information. The Zine Union Catalog (ZineCat) lets researchers discover zine holdings by searching a single catalog, and helps librarians copy catalog records to facilitate lending across libraries. ZineCat serves educators, researchers, librarians, archivists, and anyone in the general public with an interest in zines.

Visit a Local Zine Collection

Evergreen has a small but growing collection of zines available on the 3rd floor, next to the Beat Nook and the Rare Books Room. You can view zine titles at the Evergreen State College Library by searching the catalog. Evergreen's zine collection does not circulate, but you can browse the collection on the 3rd floor.
The Olympia Timberland Library has a large circulating zine collection, and the Lacey Library has a small circulating collection of "zine kits," with each kit containing 10-15 zines on a particular subject. Zines may be placed on hold and checked out. Find out more by going to https://trl.org/zines/
Last Word Books in downtown Olympia has a browsable zine collection. They also sell zines, and have been publishing primarily anarchist zines since 2002.
Orca Books Co-op in downtown Olympia has a good variety of local zines available for purchase, and they also don't mind if you hang out and read. :)