|
Bookends: A Library Newsletter | 4/24/2024 |
“feathers of a jay
tiny, sewn, precise––
tomorrow a salmon will rise
toward this imagined nourishment”
- Kate Reavey, from “I Sing the Salmon Home” edited by Rena Priest
April is National Poetry Month and gosh, we have some great poets all around us. Rena Priest was the 2021-2023 Washington State Poet Laureate and is a member of the Lhaq’temish (Lummi) Nation. I Sing the Salmon Home was published in 2023 and is a beautiful anthology of poetry by Washington writers who “speak to the heroism of the salmon’s journey.”
Rena participated in Evergreen’s Art Lecture Series in 2022, which remains available to watch on YouTube. You can, of course, find many other books of poetry in both the library’s main collection and in our Rare Books Room. Come in and ask, or browse the ‘PS’ section for (American) poets galore. We have plenty of non-American poetry too, of course, in different sections. Just ask us and we’ll show you where!
April is also a great month to watch the world grow and bloom around us, and a good time to remind you that the library, too, is a growing organism. We are always growing our collections and services, and adapting our spaces to best meet the needs of our communities. For instance, we now have lamps in ALL of our study rooms for those who would like a nice, quiet place to study but can’t take the overhead lights.
Have feedback, suggestions, or purchase requests? We’d love to hear from you. All students can make purchase requests directly using our purchase request form, and you can send other feedback and suggestions along to us via email at any time. Get in touch and let us know how we can help you succeed here at Evergreen!
Read on to learn about some of our workshops, events, and resources we are highlighting this quarter.
|
|
|
|
A peek inside the display cases of the Rare Books Room.
Our current Rare Books Room exhibit explores the natural world through the eyes of book artists. We were inspired by the long-awaited return of the Procession of the Species to choose titles that shared the Procession’s categories of Earth, Air, Fire, and Water. Selections address themes of social and environmental justice, nature’s ability to promote growth and decay, and humanity’s effect on our shared environment (and vice versa).
Several of the books on display incorporate unusual materials, including Suze Woolf’s bark-beetle ravaged wood and Carletta Carrington Wilson’s soft mixed media books made with fabric, artificial plants, and bells. Jean Ferrier’s retelling of a Haida-Gwai Legend is bound in a clamshell. Mari Eckstein Gower’s flag book depicts the teeming life found beneath our feet and includes a vial of sand, rocks, and peat.
QR codes accompany select exhibit titles for those who wish to engage more deeply. This Spring, we invite you to spend time with these beautifully diverse offerings from the James F Holly Rare Book Collection. On display from April 1, 2024 - June 14, 2024.
For open hours and additional information about the James F. Holly Rare Books Room, visit https://libguides.evergreen.edu/rarebooks/home
Solastalgia is a premonition of longing for the present moment from the perspective of an anticipated future. It is the feeling of homesickness before leaving home. What are we experiencing now that we will miss in the future? That is the sensation of solastalgia.
The Solastalgic Archive holds ephemera of memory, creation, forgetting, destruction, preciousness and transience. Contributions have been sourced from a vast array of people, each asked to consider what connects them to time. Unlike other museum collections, the Solastalgic Archive holds deeply personal items, as well as things that change or disappear over time.
By allowing emotions and ephemerality to displace institutional indifference and contrived permanence, this space enlivens the passage of time. The archive will evolve over the course of its exhibition and will continue to grow.
The Solastalgic Archive will be on display in the library through June 14, 2024. Join us today to watch Nina Elder speak as part of the Art Lecture Series.
Did you know that we have a ton of streaming media you can watch via our collections, including amazing films that you won’t find on Netflex, Amazon, etc? Films like these!
Foragers: Foragers depicts the dramas around the practice of foraging for wild edible plants in Palestine/Israel with wry humor and a meditative pace.
Beyond Men and Masculinity: explores how men see themselves, how they relate to the people they care about and how the personal affects the political.
Hunt for the Oldest DNA: Follow the dramatic quest to recover DNA millions of years old and reveal a lost world from before the last Ice Age.
Fly With Me: This documentary tells the story of the pioneering young women who became flight attendants at a time when single women were unable to order a drink, eat alone in a restaurant, own a credit card or get a prescription for birth control.
Butterfly in the Sky: tells the story of the beloved PBS children’s series "Reading Rainbow," its iconic host LeVar Burton, and the challenges its creators faced in cultivating a love of reading through television.
American Jedi: The Salman Hamdani Story: A devout Muslim and proud American immigrant makes the ultimate heroic sacrifice. Like the fictional Jedi he admires, Salman Hamdani is ready to face adversity for the sake of others. On the morning of September 11, 2001, this young man takes a daring leap and runs toward the Twin Towers. When his body isn't immediately found, his absence inevitably leads to questions--and suspicions. His family is forced to overcome tragedy and ostracization in response to their son's death. His mother, Talat, fights to honor Salman, stand for truth, and break down barriers for Muslim Americans in the post-9/11 world. This is the true story of heroism, faith in the American Dream, and one mother's struggle to honor her son.
In addition to our regular hours we are facilitating two Academic Statement workshops, both in person with a Zoom option:
Please email ansley.clark@evergreen.edu for more information about writing tutoring or the Writing Center's Academic Statement workshops.
We are the library for all of Evergreen's students, studying at all levels, in all programs and at all campuses. Reach out and we will do our best to help your student experience be successful and fulfilling. We update our social media accounts regularly and would love to hear from you. Otherwise, feel free to email us any time at libraryhelp@evergreen.edu or give us a call at (360) 867-6580.
Find us on: Instagram | Facebook | Discord | YouTube
|
Develop your critical thinking and research skills. Study, create, and explore in the library. |
0 Comments.