Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources at The Evergreen Library: E-Books

This guide aims to bring together all the electronic resources (e-books, e-journals, databases, streaming media) and digital content available through The Evergreen State College Library.

E-Books

This page will show you how to find e-books in the library catalog.

Finding an E-Book in the Catalog

The best place to search for e-books is through the library catalog. By using the catalog, you will be searching across all our platforms instead of just one.

 

First, pull up the library catalog and type in keywords to search. This can be an author, title, or general keyword. 

You can filter your results so only e-books are displayed by clicking on Advanced Search to the right of the search box and selecting eBooks from the Material Type drop-down menu. You will need to click Search again to apply this filter.

 

Catalog search box with green border and "alice maynell" typed in search box.

 

Scroll through to find the e-book title you need. If you can't find what you are looking for, you may need to filter your search by using the left menu called Tweak my results. Here, you can filter by subject, date range, availability, material type, and more.

 

When you find the e-book you need, click the Full Text Available link to open up the catalog record and access the e-book platform that contains that title,

 

This picture shows the result for Essays by Alice Meynell, an ebook, and the text at the bottom reads Full Text Available and is highlighted.

 

This picture shows the Availability and Request Options section of a catalog record with the Full text available at link highlighted.

 

Once you are in an e-book platform, you'll want to look for the "Read Online" or "EPUB Full Text" or "PDF" link to view the book online.

A purple Read Online button from ProQuest database.A green and blue EPUB Full Text button from the EBSCO database.A Download Full Book button with a PDF icon to the left.A PDF button with a green checkmark and Access to the left.

If you are still unable to find a specific title needed for your class, you can try searching freely available resources listed on the Open Access & OER tab of this resource guide.

You can also Suggest a Library Purchase to see if we can order it for you.

Downloading eBooks

You do not need to download an e-book in order to read it. We recommend reading the e-book online, unless you need to access it offline or in print.

Most of our e-book platforms will allow you to download e-books in PDF format. Just look for the PDF icon to start downloading.

Two of our platforms, EBSCO and ProQuest may require you to download e-books in EPUB format, which can be read by a program called Adobe Digital Editions.

To download an e-book through the EBSCO database, follow the steps outlined below.

First, click the EPUB Full Text or Full Download button to the left of the e-book to start downloading.

Click Sign In/Create Account.

undefined
 

You will then see a login screen with a link to create an account at the bottom, where it says "Don't have an account? Create one now."

Once you have created an account, you will then need to download Adobe Digital Editions.

Once logged in to your newly created EBSCO account and with Adobe Digital Editions downloaded onto your computer, click the download button again. When the window pops up, check the box indicating that you have installed Adobe Digital Editions (or equivalent) and click Full Download.

 

undefined
 

You will then see a pop-up window indicating that your ebook has been downloaded and how many days you have access to the download.

 

undefined
 

You will also see a download notification in your browser. You can navigate to your Downloads folder or click Show in Folder. (This will look differently, depending on your computer.)

 
undefined
 

Once in your Downloads folder, double-click the e-book file (.acsm) to open in Adobe Digital Editions.

 

Adobe Digital Editions will then open the e-book an may ask you to provide your Adobe ID and password. If you do not have an Adobe ID, create a free account to login. Once logged in, your e-book will start to download. When your borrowing time limit is up, the e-book will be automatically "returned" for you and you may have to download it again. This time, you'll have all the accounts set up!

Still having trouble? Try looking through the EBSCO Downloading an eBook help guide or contact the library with the title of the book you are trying to access.

 

To download an e-book through the ProQuest database, follow the steps outlined below.

Click the Download Book button below the cover image on the left side. You may need to open the book in your browser first.

 

Once the book is open in your browser, click the Download button in the top toolbar menu.

 

 

Then, follow the prompts to download your e-book. In order to download in EPUB format, you will need to first download Adobe Digital Editions.

 

 

Still having trouble? Try looking through the ProQuest Ebook Central guide or contact the library with the title of the book you are trying to access.

E-Book Platforms

While the best place to find individual titles is the catalog, you may also want to browse our e-book platforms. To do so, check out our List of E-Book Platforms.

To browse course materials available through the library, check out our Course Materials Guide.

Whether you are just getting started or would like a refresher on e-books, this video will walk you through everything you need to know!

Electronic Resources Librarian

Ask a Librarian live chat service

Daniel J. Evans Library - MS: LIB2300 - 2700 Evergreen Parkway, NE. Olympia, WA 98501 - 360-867-6250