James F. Holly Rare Books Room

With a refreshing perspective this book shows the designs of pop-up creators all around the world with some of their most innovative designs and practical examples to construct them. Full of colour illustrations and inspiring force, this book reveals the techniques of such a peculiar craft. It gathers a splendid showcase of three-dimensional books, from its origins until present-day authors and trends.

With Book + Art, explore the basics of surfaces, images and words in order to create provocative works of art with layers of meaning. Whether you're altering a pre-made book or creating your own, here you'll find both the instruction and the inspiration to get it done. In addition to learning mixed-media techniques—such as how to age paper, transfer images and make your own monoprints—you'll be given step-by-step instruction for numerous book structures.

Book Book is an instruction book of intro-level bookbinding with writing by Myungah Hyon and illustrations by Yuchen Chang.

Explore the art of making books with this comprehensive collection of binding techniques and decorative finishes. Each skill is explained with step-by-step and examples of inspirational projects.

Demonstrates basic as well as very elaborate bindings constructed without adhesives and requiring no pressesor other heavy equipment. A needle, a pair of scissors and a few other minor tools are all that is needed.

Re-Bound is a beautiful book on bookbinding with a fun green twist-all the projects use recycled and upcycled materials. This book shows you how to take everyday materials from around the house, flea markets, thrift stores, and hardware stores and turn them into clever and eye-catching hand-made books.

Surveys the basic tools, materials, and procedures of bookbinding and explains how to make books ranging from a pamphlet to leather library-style binding.

Comics studies has reached a crossroads. Graphic novels have never received more attention and legitimation from scholars, but new canons and new critical discourses have created tensions within a field built on the populist rhetoric of cultural studies. As a result, comics studies has begun to cleave into distinct camps—based primarily in cultural or literary studies—that attempt to dictate the boundaries of the discipline or else resist disciplinarity itself. The consequence is a growing disconnect in the ways that comics scholars talk to each other—or, more frequently, do not talk to each other or even acknowledge each other’s work. Breaking the Frames: Populism and Prestige in Comics Studies surveys the current state of comics scholarship, interrogating its dominant schools, questioning their mutual estrangement, and challenging their propensity to champion the comics they study. Marc Singer advocates for greater disciplinary diversity and methodological rigor in comics studies, making the case for a field that can embrace more critical and oppositional perspectives. Working through extended readings of some of the most acclaimed comics creators—including Marjane Satrapi, Alan Moore, Kyle Baker, and Chris Ware—Singer demonstrates how comics studies can break out of the celebratory frameworks and restrictive canons that currently define the field to produce new scholarship that expands our understanding of comics and their critics.

Learn to create an animated flip book from start to finish! Flipping Out: The Art of Flip Book Animation guides readers through the entire flip book animation process, from brainstorming and storyboarding to drawing, adding color, and more. Aspiring animators will learn all of the skills to create flip books of their own, including keyframes, inbetweens, animating characters, and binding their animations into a book.

This 24-page flip book shows the process for making your own flip book.

"For more than five years the cartoonist Lynda Barry has been an associate professor in the University of Wisconsin-Madison art department and at the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery, teaching students from all majors, both graduate and undergraduate, how to make comics, how to be creative, how to not think. There is no academic lecture in this classroom. Doodling is enthusiastically encouraged. Making Comics is the follow-up to Barry's bestselling Syllabus and this time she shares all of her comics-making exercises. In a new hand drawn syllabus detailing her creative curriculum, Barry has students drawing themselves as monsters and superheroes, convincing students who think they can't draw that they can, and most important, encouraging them to understand that a daily journal can be anything so long as it is hand drawn." -- Provided by publisher.

"Scott McCloud tore down the wall between high and low culture in 1993 with Understanding Comics, a massive comic book about comics, linking the medium to such diverse fields as media theory, movie criticism, and web design. In Reinventing Comics, McCloud took this to the next level, charting twelve different revolutions in how comics are generated, read, and perceived today. Now, in Making Comics, McCloud focuses his analysis on the art form itself, exploring the creation of comics, from the broadest principles to the sharpest details (like how to accentuate a character's facial muscles in order to form the emotion of disgust rather than the emotion of surprise.) And he does all of it in his inimitable voice and through his cartoon stand--in narrator, mixing dry humor and legitimate instruction. McCloud shows his reader how to master the human condition through word and image in a brilliantly minimalistic way. Comic book devotees as well as the most uninitiated will marvel at this journey into a once-underappreciated art form."--Publisher's description.

Conveying the authors' love of the letterpress process and product, this book presents the technical, historical, aesthetic and practical information necessary for both students and instructors.

In a world where screen-based graphics and digital design dominate the mainstream, an international community of independent designers has embraced traditional printmaking techniques to create some of the most innovative graphics ever.

Although this book has been set by contemporary electronic methods, it attempts to duplicate as closely as possible the typefaces, style and traditions of the era of American metal typesetting of the twentieth century. This is the key reference manual for identifying metal typefaces.

An illuminating account of the design inspirations and technical transformations that have shaped the digital typefaces of the 21st century

The miniature book as a separate class of book to be collected…was not recognized until the last half of the 19th century when the Empress Eugenie, wife of Napoleon III, owned a collection of miniature books, reported to have contained between 1800 and 2000 volumes. Thus the documented history of collectors and collections of miniature books really covers less than a hundred years. However, references to individual miniature books have been found during all periods of recorded history.

Miniature books, eighteenth-century novels, Tom Thumb weddings, tall tales, and objects of tourism and nostalgia: this diverse group of cultural forms is the subject of On Longing, a fascinating analysis of the ways in which everyday objects are narrated to animate or realize certain versions of the world. Originally published in 1984 (Johns Hopkins University Press), and now available in paperback for the first time, this highly original book draws on insights from semiotics and from psychoanalytic, feminist, and Marxist criticism. Addressing the relations of language to experience, the body to scale, and narratives to objects, Susan Stewart looks at the "miniature" as a metaphor for interiority and at the "gigantic" as an exaggeration of aspects of the exterior. In the final part of her essay Stewart examines the ways in which the "souvenir" and the "collection" are objects mediating experience in time and space.

First edition. Well illustrated history with information on printing, bookbinding and illustration. Contains a bibliography.

Shows how to be creative and environmentally friendly at the same time using papers and plants to make unusual and beautiful textured papers. The basic techniques are illustrated with step-by-step photographs. The book shows how to use recycled paper, and gives advice on dyeing and scenting it.

First edition. Morris no.4 "Published at a mere $12.50, I remember at the time wondering why it was so underpriced" . Gives the historical background on the art of Japanese papermaking, how Japanese paper is made, a survey of hand-paper making in Japan during the 1950s and bibliographical notes. The specimens measure 6 x 5 inches. Two of these specimens were produced by the renowned Japanese papermaker, Eishiro Abe. Jacket chipped with tears. In cardboard slipcase. 75 pages followed by plates of photographic illustrations showing the techniques involved in making paper followed by 24 specimens of hand- made paper. boards, dust jacket.. 4to..

"Whether you're a working artist or craftsperson who wants to make paper for a specific purpose, an experimenter who's eager to try out new art forms, a teacher looking for fresh and stimulation classroom projects, or a student exploring all art forms, Papermaking will provide you with a new source of innovative ideas. All you'll ever need to know about making paper by hand is right here."--Page [2] of jacket.

147 pages including index, description of papermaking techniques in Egypt, Uganda, Polynesia, Brazilian Amazon, Pre-Columbian and present day Mexico, Indonesia, Southern China and Taiwan, covers plants, tools, equipment and techniques, bw illustrations and maps

English and Japanese on opposite pages. The Japanese text is reproduced from the facsim. ed. issued in 1925 by the Seiahi Insatsu Kensankai (Society for the Study of Papermaking and Printing) of Tokyo.
"This book has been planned by the members of the Book Arts Club of the University of California in coöperation with A.R. Tommasini. One thousand copies have been printed in Garamond Bold and Motto Types by the Printing Department of the University of California Press, Berkeley, California"--Colophon.

This documentary tells the story of the incredible and enduring friendship between Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and William Burroughs, and how that friendship gave birth to the literary movement of the Beat Generation. It begins in New York, at the end of World War 2; it travels through San Francisco, Mexico City, Tangier, and Paris; and results in the publication of seminal literary works Howl (Ginsberg), On the Road (Kerouac), and Naked Lunch (Burroughs.) Each book helped lay the foundation and provide the inspiration for an anti-conformist youth movement. With a dozen other writers, the infernal trio blasted society, laid the seeds of angst and influenced literature and culture for generations to come.

Beyond Maximus: The Construction of Public Voice in Black Mountain Poetry is the only study of Black Mountain poets (Charles Olson, Robert Creeley, Robert Duncan, Denise Levertov, and Ed Dorn) to explain their association from the 1950s to their break-up after the Vietnam War. Dewey uses the poets' correspondence and other archival materials to illuminate their mutual influence and the crucial significance of "field poetics" to their careers. While previous criticism has focused on the poetics of the force field as a model of nature, Dewey understands the force field as a model of social force that all five poets articulate and incorporate into poetry in ways that compete with artistic craft. Their different conceptions of social force explain their divergent careers. The development of "field poetics" also sheds light on these poets' attempts to create an alliance between experimental poetics and public voice, a difficult agenda that speaks to Black Mountain poetry's crucial contribution to the artistic and political struggles of New American poetry.

What do we know about the women who played an important role in creating the literature of the Beat Generation? Until recently, very little. Studies of the movement have effaced or excluded women writers, such as Elise Cowen, Joyce Johnson, Joanne Kyger, Hettie Jones, and Diane Di Prima, each one a significant figure of the postwar Beat communities. Equally free-thinking and innovative as the founding generation of men, women writers, fluent in Beat, hippie, and women's movement idioms, partook of and bridged two important countercultures of the American mid-century. Persistently foregrounding female experiences in the cold war 1950s and in the counterculture 1960s and in every decade up to the millennium, women writing Beat have brought nonconformity, skepticism, and gender dissent to postmodern culture and literary production in the United States and beyond.

A History of American Poetry presents a comprehensive exploration of the development of American poetic traditions from their pre-Columbian origins to the present day. Offers a detailed and accessible account of the entire range of American poetry Situates the story of American poetry within crucial social and historical contexts, and places individual poets and poems in the relevant intertextual contexts Explores and interprets American poetry in terms of the international positioning and multicultural character of the United States Provides readers with a means to understand the individual works and personalities that helped to shape one of the most significant bodies of literature of the past few centuries

With more than 100,000 copies sold, The New American Poetry has become one of the most influential anthologies published in the United States since World War II. As one of the first counter-cultural collections of American verse, this volume fits in Robert Lowell's famous definition of the raw in American poetry. Many of the contributors once derided in the mainstream press of the period are now part of the postmodern canon: Olson, Duncan, Creeley, Guest, Ashbery, Ginsberg, Kerouac, Levertov, O'Hara, Snyder, Schuyler, and others. Donald Allen's The New American Poetry delivered the first taste of these remarkable poets, and the book has since become an invaluable historical and cultural record, now available again for a new generation of readers.

Though the term "San Francisco Renaissance" is usually associated with the Beat movement, it was in reality a collage of different communities, often at odds with one another, whose agendas were social and political as much as aesthetic. These subcommunities provided important contexts for subsequent counterculture developments such as gay liberation, feminism, and the New Left long before those movements attracted widespread public attention. In his study of these various impulses Michael Davidson devotes chapters to central figures such as Kenneth Rexroth, Robert Duncan, William Everson, Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, Michael McClure, Gary Snyder, Philip Whalen, and Jack Spicer. He also examines the important but largely neglected context of women writers in a period dominated by misogynistic views. His final chapter brings things up to date by looking at developments in the Bay Area since the death of Jack Spicer.

From band posters stapled to telephone poles to the advertisements hanging at bus shelters to the inspirational prints that adorn office walls, posters surround us everywhere―but do we know how they began? Telling the story of this ephemeral art form, Elizabeth E. Guffey reexamines the poster’s roots in the nineteenth century and explores the relevance they still possess in the age of digital media. Even in our world of social media and electronic devices, she argues, few forms of graphic design can rival posters for sheer spatial presence, and they provide new opportunities to communicate across public spaces in cities around the globe.

With its unique focus on visual language, Ellen Lupton's How Posters Work is more than another poster book. Rather than provide a history of the genre or a compilation of collectibles, the book is organized around active design principles. Concepts such as "Simplify," "Focus the eye," "Exploit the diagonal," "Reverse expectations" and "Say two things at once" are illustrated with a diverse range of posters, from avant-garde classics and rarely seen international works to contemporary pieces by today's leading graphic designers. Illustrated with over 150 works from the collection of Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, How Posters Work provides a stunning education in seeing and making, demonstrating how some of the world's most creative designers have mobilized principles of layout, composition, psychology and rhetoric to produce powerful acts of visual communication.

The first book-length exploration of the quirky feminist booklets With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and I'm So Fucking Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminism's third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities. Girl Zines is the first book-length exploration of this exciting movement. Alison Piepmeier argues that these quirky, personalized booklets are tangible examples of the ways that girls and women 'do' feminism today. The idiosyncratic, surprising, and savvy arguments and issues showcased in the forty-six images reproduced in the book provide a complex window into feminism's future, where zinesters persistently and stubbornly carve out new spaces for what it means to be a revolutionary and a girl. Girl Zines takes zines seriously, asking what they can tell us about the inner lives of girls and women over the last twenty years.

Since 2002, Stolen Sharpie Revolution: a DIY Resource for Zines and Zine Culture has been the go-to guide for all things zine related. This little red book is stuffed with information about zines. Things you may know, stuff you don't know and even stuff you didn't know you didn't know! Stolen Sharpie Revolution contains a cornucopia of information about zines and zine culture for everyone from the zine newbie to the experienced zinester to the academic researcher.

This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It’s for learning tips and tricks from contributors who have been at the fore front of the zine movement. It’s for getting inspired to put thoughts and ideas down on paper. It’s for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others’ hands. Whatcha Mean, What’s a Zine? is for anyone who has something to say.

Zines are the maverick inhabitants of publishing's Wild West, where the obsessional, the idiosyncratic and the wilfully obscure roam free across pages unbounded by the constraints of mainstream agendas. This book offers a highly-visual analysis of this phenomenon, assembled with expert fanaticism by the team of Pop theorists who created Highflyers and Scrawl. It showcases a huge, international range of current zines, put into context by historical examples from the hoardings of die-hard collectors. Graphic devices and macro photography inject the reader straight into the world of each, with thorough dissections of their format, writing and visual content.